My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Half-Marathon training – Week 12

on September 20, 2015

Another week of training is complete.  And it was a pretty good week for the most part.  My husband and I were supposed to go away on Thursday for the weekend, but ended up not being able to go.  I was very disappointed.  But at least I didn’t need to shift my training runs around.

So this is how the week went: 

MONDAY – It was a beautiful day, so I opted for a short walk to start the day, logging about 1k.

TUESDAY – Work has picked up with the start of the school year, so instead of running in the morning as I had been all summer, I did my run in the afternoon. Not used to running later in the day. I struggled a little, but still logged my 6.5k for the day.

WEDNESDAY – Once again, I opted to go for a walk for my cross training. This week I logged 3k.

THURSDAY – Again, I moved my run to the afternoon. I decided to try the treadmill for a change. It had been about a year since I’d been on one, and I forgot how hard it is! It didn’t help that the workout studio was a little warm. In the end, I managed 4k on it. Then I immediately went over to the indoor track to finish the last 2.5k I needed. Thankfully it was MUCH cooler in there! In total, I logged 6.62k for the day.

FRIDAY – Rest day.

SATURDAY – Long run day. This was my last long run before race day. My plan called for 18k, but I wanted to push that distance a little bit. It was a little hard, but at least it wasn’t raining. I finally stopped at 18.77k. It got a little slow near the end, but I was still happy with it.

SUNDAY – My schedule had me doing a short run, so I decided to do a local 5k race. (My running app actually logged it as 5.26k). It was a good solid run. I was happy with how well I did. Look for a race recap post very soon!

My plan called for 36k, and I logged just over 41k for the week.

With fall approaching, it’s getting lighter later so it’s not easy to go running first thing in the morning. I don’t yet own anything reflective so I’m not comfortable with running in low light.  Hopefully that will change soon. 

I’ve been chatting with more experienced runners lately about my upcoming half marathon. They have been giving me some really good advice.  As race day gets closer and closer, I’m getting more nervous.  It helps to talk to runners who have done the race before.

Only 7 more runs until race day. Until then, my runs will be short to mid range, with the longest one just half the race distance.

I need to remember to do several stretch sessions between now and race day. Stretching is so important. I need to do it more often.  I would love to take a yoga class some time. Maybe I’ll get a chance over the winter. 

I also need to remember to keep myself hydrated. I’m not always good about drinking enough water. But I need to be better at it, especially for this race. I need to be able to keep going. I need to cross that finish line.  I’m going to try keeping a log of how much I drink throughout the day.

I will be going to the running store soon to pick up more fuel. Whatever I decide to get is what I will be using for the race. I’ve rather enjoyed trying different things during my training. 

I’m also starting to think about what to put in my race bag. I’m sure I will get lots of advice from my more experienced runner friends as to what to include.  At least I hope I will. 

Anyway, I think that’s about it for this week.

Race day is just 2 weeks away.

Leave a Reply

