My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Half-Marathon training – Week 9

on August 31, 2015

Another week done. And let me tell you, it was a bit tough. It’s not easy training in the summer. I can hardly wait for cooler temperatures and less humidity.

We were still away at the beginning of the week, but I managed to get all my runs in when we got back.

This is how the week went:

MONDAY – Normally a rest day, but we were still visiting family. We decided to spend the day in NYC. We had a great time, but it was a very long day.  We did a bus tour, but still managed to walk about 10k.

TUESDAY – We left early in the morning to head home, so it became a sort of rest day.

WEDNESDAY – Needed to get back on schedule, so opted to run instead of doing cross training.  Had a good solid run of 7.34k.

THURSDAY – I was up early to run again.  Seemed a little harder than it should have, but managed 7k. I also went walking in the afternoon, logging another 3.87k.

FRIDAY – Rest day. And did I ever need it! 

SATURDAY – Long run day. I was up early to get my run in, which I almost always do these days. Today called for 14.5k, but I stretched it out to an even 15k. Not gonna lie, it hurt a bit near the end. I struggled with the last couple of kms. After having coffee at my favourite shop, I walked the 1.5k home.

SUNDAY – I’m kind of used to getting up extra early to go running on Sundays. After my long run the day before, Sunday’s run was a little slower than I would have liked.  But I got it done, logging 6.86k to end the week.  And took a nice long nap too.

This week, the plan called for 34k.  My running totaled 36.2k, and walking totaled 15.37k, for a total of 51.57k for the week.

While visiting my family, I managed to find the vest I was looking for.  It’s technically a fishing vest, but it’s what I wanted.  It’s lightweight mesh with a dozen pockets of varying sizes.  I wore it running all this week and really liked it.  Now I want to find some reflective tape or fabric to add to it for safety.

I also found a couple new gel flavours to try, which I did this week as well.  I also bought some jelly beans, but haven’t tried them out yet.  They are just like chews, just in jelly bean form.

I also tested out some protein bars, but wasn’t really happy with them. I mean they tasted good, but a little hard to eat while running. I cut them into small pieces the second time, which worked a little better, but still not super happy with them.  

On my long run this week, I tried fueling about every 2k, and that seemed to work really well.  I also need to remember to drink regularly, which I’m not always good at. I have 3 more long runs before I start backing down the kms for race day.

I think that covers it for this week.  Check back next week for another update.

Leave a Reply

