My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Half-Marathon training – Week 8

on August 24, 2015

Well this was an interesting week.  My husband and I headed to Delaware early Thursday morning for a long weekend that included a family wedding.  I didn’t get in as much running in as I should have, but I did get some walking in to almost make up for it.  Honestly it was nice to have a little break.  But I’m also a bit anxious to get home and back on schedule.

So this is how the week went:

MONDAY – Rest day. I’m really beginning to like having Monday as a rest day.

TUESDAY – Long run. Because I had planned to be out of town on the weekend, I needed to get my long run in early. The plan called for 13k, and I finished with 13.4k plus another 1.42k of walking. My farthest run to date.  Pretty proud of that. 

WEDNESDAY – I had planned to run on Wednesday, but when I woke up my left ankle felt sore, so I opted for a rest day instead.

THURSDAY – Travelling day. It took about 10 hours to get to my oldest brother’s house in Delaware. It made for a looooong day.

FRIDAY – I spent part of the day walking around with my niece Sydney. We managed to cover about 5k.  My other brother and his wife arrived in the evening.

SATURDAY – Our dad got married. It was a nice day. I still managed to get a short walk in, about 2k.

SUNDAY – My brother Jerry, his wife Julie, my niece Sydney, my husband and I went into Philadelphia for a few hours to play tourist. It was nice.  Managed to walk about 4k throughout the day.

The plan called for 31k this week. I managed to cover 25.85k with running and walking.  This was the first week that I didn’t meet or exceed the kilometres in my plan. But I’m actually okay with that.

On my long run this week, I was using my gels about every 3k, which I don’t think was often enough. I think I need to use them about every 2k.  I’ll try that out and see how well it works.  

That’s about it for this week.  Check back next week for another update.

Leave a Reply

