My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Half-Marathon training – Week 6

on August 10, 2015

Another week done already. I know I keep saying it, but it’s crazy how fast time is going. Overall, I think training is going well, a least as far as the running goes.  I’m struggling a bit with the strength training, but I’m doing the best I can.  It really helps having so many supportive people around me.

Anyway, this is how my week went: 

MONDAY – I love rest days LOL. Weekends tend to be busy for me, and not just with running, so it’s nice to have a day to kick back and recharge.

TUESDAY – with the humidity a factor almost every day right now, my runs are almost always early in the morning. Today called for 5k, and I finished with 5.35k.

WEDNESDAY – I had a slight headache when I went to bed Tuesday night, and it was full on migraine when I woke up on Wednesday morning.  I really hate that.  Meds and rest all day.

THURSDAY – I was feeling better by Wednesday night, so I had planned to get up early to run on Thursday. A friend was in town and wanted to meet for coffee and to catch up.  I also had planned to do my long run today instead of Saturday.  So I was up and out extra early to get at least 10k in before meeting my friend.  I ended up with 10.6k and another 3k of walking with my friend. It was a good day.

FRIDAY – after a long run Thursday, plus extra walking, and a race planned for Saturday, I definitely needed a rest day.

SATURDAY – normally, Saturday is when I do my long run, but I had a 5k race on my calendar, which is why I changed with Thursday this week. The race was in nearby Trenton, on a route I’d done before.  I was pretty happy with my time, considering there is a giant hill around the mid point in the race and it was a bit humid. Afterwards, I walked about another 3k

SUNDAY – I woke up a little sore from the race, but still needed to get at least 5k in for the day. It was another early morning to try and avoid the humidity as much as I could.  A lady I’ve seen several times walking her dog on the trail stopped me to say how great I look and to keep up the good work. I love hearing things like that! 

This week called for 25k, and I finished the week with 32.35k.  Some of that is walking, but it all adds up. 

A bit of a busy week, and they’re just going to keep getting busier. I’m almost used to getting up early to go running. Thank goodness for coffee LOL.

I’ve been testing various gels during my runs. The flavours have been good overall. I think there have only been one or two I didn’t like that much.  Some of them have extra caffeine, some don’t.  I prefer the ones that do.  Overall, I’m happy with the results I’m getting with them. And I think I’m finally getting a handle on fueling while running, especially during my long runs. I’m formulating a plan for the big race, which I’ll be testing out as my runs get longer. 

I’ve worn the running socks I bought a few times now. I like that they are shorter than my sport socks.  They are soft and comfortable too.  I’m still not sure if they are necessarily any better than the sport socks though. 

I’ve worn the belt bottle holder several times, including during my race.  I like it.  It bounces a little, but not too much.  And I like that it holds the bottle at an angle so it’s easier to grab.  The only downside that I’ve noticed is that the pouch is not very big.  I can put gels or my phone in it, but not both.  I’m still looking into other options for carrying things. I need to be able to carry fuel, my phone, and my asthma puffer.  Right now, I’m wearing a jacket around my waist when I run so I can use the pockets. I’m in the process of looking at other options.

That’s about it for week 6. Check back next week for another update.

Leave a Reply

