My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Half-Marathon training – Week 3 

on July 19, 2015

So another week is done. Time seems to be going by pretty fast!

This week was an interesting one because it was hotter and more humid than it had been.  Oh, the joys of training in the summer. 

Anyway, here’s the lowdown on what happened this week:

Monday – Rest day. I just chilled out most of the day. After two early morning runs, I felt like I needed and deserved a total rest day.

Tuesday – Another hot and humid day, but I managed 5.11km.  Normally I would push a little farther, but it’s hard to do that when it’s so humid out.  I also did 45 minutes of strength training and stretching.  It felt good.

Wednesday – For cross-training this week, I chose the recumbent bike and did a good 60 minute workout.  It had been awhile since I’d been on a bike and my legs were a little jello-like when I got done.  I also did a nice 3km walk since it wasn’t too humid for a change.

Thursday – Yet another hot and humid day. Part of me really wanted to stay in bed, but I made myself get up and go running.  Not gonna lie, it was tough. It was a short run day, but I pushed myself and did 6.25km.

Friday – Rest day again. Thankfully. Between the recumbent bike on Wednesday and the tough run on Thursday, I needed a rest.

Saturday – I had another local fun run to do. It was rather humid, but I got it done. They said it was 5km, but my Nike running app said it was 5.5km. 

Sunday – My plan had me running today, but the weather was not good.  Extremely hot and humid and a risk of thunderstorms much of the day. Even if I had gotten up at 5am to run, it would still have been very humid. I decided to switch today with tomorrow. I can run when it’s a little humid, but when the humidity makes it feel likes it is over 100 degrees Fahrenheit outside, probably a good idea to hold off. Tomorrow’s weather looks better and not as humid.

My training plan called for 16.5km this week, and I managed 19.86km even without running today. Pretty good, I think.

I had a chance to stop at a running store this week.  It’s been awhile since I’d been to one.  I wish there was one closer to me.  Anyway, I picked up a few new gel flavours to try and some chews as well.  I’m looking forward to trying them out.

I got a few new strength training moves and stretches from the books I checked out of the library last week.  I’ll be returning those this week and maybe getting a few more.  I got a foam roller at Christmas, but I haven’t used it much.  I really want to learn more on how to use it properly, and actually use it! A lot of runners I talk to on Twitter use them and love them.  Maybe I’ll find some books at the library on how to use a foam roller.

Well I think that’s about it for this week.  Kind of uneventful really, but still a pretty good week.

On to Week 4! 

Leave a Reply

