My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Half-Marathon training – Week 2 

on July 13, 2015

So Week 2 is done.

I have to admit, it’s kind of nice following a plan. And I’m glad I picked the one I did.  I really like that I can move things around if necessary.

This plan gives me 2 rest days a week.  I can either completely rest, or use them for active recovery.  Some days my body really wants/needs to rest; others, I just feel like I need to do something, even though it’s not a run day.  After speaking with several runners, I realize most runners are the same.

So Monday I took as a complete rest day.  I think I needed it.

Tuesday called for a 5k run and 30 minutes of strength training.  I ended up doing 5.5k plus the strength training.

Wednesday was cross training day.  I chose the elliptical, and did a really good 60 min workout on it, including several spurts of backwards pedaling for 30 seconds at a time.  Wow, was that hard! I had serious jello legs when I was done.

Thursday called for a short run.  I only needed 3.25k, but pushed myself a little bit and did 4.34k and another 1.51k of walking.

Friday was rest day again, but chose active recovery and went for an easy 3k walk.

The humidity has been high lately, so Saturday I got up extra early to get my run in before it got too hot/humid.  I ended up with 6.11k.  Not as much as I had been doing on Saturdays, but it was still good.

I got up extra early on Sunday as well.  It was supposed to be a short run day, but I ended up with 6k.

The week called for 16.5k, and I finished the week with 26.46k.

When I went out walking on Friday, I went to the library and checked out some books on cross-training and yoga. I want to add more moves to the ones I already have.

Quite often when I’m out running, some stranger will offer words of encouragement.  I really like that.  And it really helps when I’m struggling a bit.

I’m still experimenting with fueling options when running.  The energy bites I made last week were really good.  I made them again this week, just varying the recipe slightly.  I will continue to experiment with them.  I haven’t had a chance to get to the running store yet to get more gels and chews to try.  Hopefully soon.

I realized that my shoes will need to be replaced soon.  Thankfully I have another pair waiting in the wings.  The problem is I’m not sure when to replace them.  I don’t want to replace them too early and then need to replace them again just before race day.  I’m going to try to eek out a couple more weeks in the pair I’m running in now.  We shall see how it goes.

All in all another good training week.

I’m looking forward to pushing myself more in the coming weeks.  Stay tuned. 

Leave a Reply

