My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Half-Marathon training – Week 1

on July 6, 2015

So I’ve completed Week 1 of my training plan.  I’ve never followed a plan like this before, so I wasn’t sure how it would go.  To be honest, I was nervous.  But I’m pretty pleased with how it went.

One thing I have to adjust to is the weeks of the plan start on Monday instead of Sunday. Hopefully it won’t take too long to get used to that.

According to the plan, Monday is a rest day.  But I didn’t want to rest on the first day, so I decided to trade Monday and Tuesday and went for a shortish run.  I ended up running a bit longer than the plan called for.

I did a stretch and core workout on Tuesday.

Wednesday was supposed to be cross training, but as it was Canada Day, I had a race.  So I changed Wednesday and Thursday this week.  The race went really well.  It was the best race and run I’d had in quite a while.  And it was a slightly longer run than the plan prescribed.

Thursday was cross training, which normally would be on Wednesdays.  

Friday was rest day.  I wanted to go for a run, but I resisted the temptation.

Saturday I did my longest run of the week, and again, I went farther than the plan said to.

Sunday was supposed to be a short run, but again, I pushed it a little farther.  It was humid so I didn’t go too far.  I should have gone out earlier than I did.  Lesson learned. 

The plan called for 14.75km, and I ended up doing 23.39km.

I’m still working on proper hydration and fueling during a run.  I did try one new power gel that I didn’t like.  It was tangerine flavoured, or at least was supposed to be.  It tasted too artificial and sugary to me.  I’m looking forward to trying more options.  I made some new energy bites that I’m quite happy with.  I made them with natural peanut butter, honey, oats, ground flaxseeds, chia seeds, pumpkin seeds, chopped nuts, and dried fruits. They were tasty and easily portable.  I will be trying slight variations in the recipe in the coming weeks.

All in all, it was a good first week.

Leave a Reply

