My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

A hopeful return to running

on March 11, 2015

It’s almost the middle of March and the snow is FINALLY starting to melt!  I am so looking forward to spring.  I’m tired of the cold and the snow and the ice.  I want warmer temperatures, less layers of clothing, and, most importantly, I want to run outside again!!

I haven’t been running since early January.  I was able to get in a few short runs before we got a bunch of snow and the temperatures really dropped.  I don’t have outdoor winter running gear, so once winter really hit, I decided to take a little break from running.  I did manage to get a few walks in, as the weather permitted.

I tried occupying myself with other things, which sort of worked.  But I found myself really missing running.  I’d read other people’s posts on facebook and twitter about their runs, and I was jealous.  Next winter, I’m definitely getting some new gear!

Anyway, so now the temperatures are getting warmer and the snow is beginning to melt.  I swear I have been hearing my running shoes calling for me to lace ’em up.  I kept telling them “soon”.

Well, today it happened.

I left the office in the early afternoon to find the sun shining and the air fairly warm.  I remember thinking I might need to dig out my sunglasses soon!  As I waited for the bus to take me home, I thought to myself today might be a good day for a run.  I got more and more excited about the idea as I got closer to home.

When I got home, I had to take care of a couple little things.  But as soon as I was done, I changed into running clothes, slipped my lonely running shoes on, and headed out the door!

I was so excited!

I figured it would be a short run, but I didn’t care. I was running!

Oh how I missed it!!

Like I said, I hadn’t been running since January, so my body was a little shocked.  My lungs burned.  My feet were a little sore.  My legs felt tired quickly.  But I didn’t care.

I even ran through a few puddles.  I haven’t done that since I was a kid.  I felt a little giddy.

I didn’t get very far when I started getting a stitch in my side.  Oh my.  The dreaded runners’ stitch.  It felt glorious!

I did my best to run through it, but it forced me to stop more than once.  I decided to head back home.

I had a feeling it would be a short run, but didn’t think it would be that short.  Oh well.  I least I finally got out there.

Despite having to cut my run shorter than I had hoped, it felt so good being out there again.  And hopefully I will be out there again very soon!

Come on, Spring! This runner needs you! This runner needs to get outside again!

 

One response to “A hopeful return to running

  1. golddh says:

    Nothing to make you appreciate running than a time away. Don’t be discouraged by the stitch, it only gets easier!

Leave a Reply

