My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

January 2015 recap

on January 31, 2015

Well the first month of the year is over.  And it went pretty fast too.

Not much happened either really.

I managed to get a few short runs in at the beginning of the month, but super cold temps and snow/ice prevented me from running outside most of the month.

Instead, I concentrated on other things.

I did a 21-day squats and lunges challenge.  And OMG it was tough!  But I actually quite enjoyed it.  It really pushed me some days.  I can hardly wait until the next one LOL

I also did daily stretching and meditation, both of which I found to be quite helpful.  I will continue to do both of them.  The stretches are basically easy yoga moves and things I learned when I took a stretch class a couple of years ago.  I stretch for 15-20 minutes.  I’m not sure where I got the idea to try meditation, but it doesn’t really matter.  It was a little hard when I first started doing it, but it got easier each day.  My longest meditation session is 20 minutes.  I lay on the floor on my yoga mat when I meditate.  I’ve found that to be the easiest for me right now.  I did try sitting on the floor once, and it was okay.  I also tried sitting in a chair, but I didn’t like it and that session didn’t last long.

I also challenged myself to do at least one plank every day for as long I could hold it, but a minimum of 30 seconds.  Some days, that was all I could manage.  But as the days went on, I could hold longer and longer.  Most of the month, I was able to hold for at least a minute, with my longest time being 1 minute 20 seconds.  I’m pretty proud of that!  I think I’ll keep doing a daily plank as well.

I saw my doctor in January as well.  He said I’m doing fine.  I see him about every 3-4 months, just routine check ups.  He did suggest I watch 3 documentaries — Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead; Forks Over Knives; and Food Matters.  The first one I found the most interesting.  He also suggested I try juicing, which I promised I would try.  I’ll be writing a post on that in the near future.

I bought a couple of new notebooks to use as a food journal and a workout journal.  I had been keeping the information on my phone, but I noticed that I started getting a bit lazy about it.  So I decided to go old school again.  I used notebooks when I first started out, so I thought they might help me get back on track and stay there.  It seems to be going well so far.

As I said before, I didn’t get much running in this month.  I think I got 3 or 4 runs in, and maybe 3 walks.  Pitiful.  But not having winter running gear makes it hard.  I really need to get some.  I know I keep saying that.  And, of course, I’m still not in a gym, so no access to a treadmill.  I still have the indoor track to use, but going around and around and around in circles really started to get to me and I had to take a break from it.  Maybe if I had someone to run/walk with, it might be different.  Sometimes I really dislike running alone.  But I don’t have a choice right now.

That’s about it really.  Like I said, not much happened this month.  Hopefully I’ll have more to report next month.

 

 

Leave a Reply

