My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Hello 2015!

on January 1, 2015

The start of a new year.  A time when many people make resolutions to improve themselves.  I used to do that.  But like most people, I’d usually give up on them fairly quickly.  It took me a while to realize that the resolutions I’d make were too much, too big, too far out of reach.  And that’s the case with the ones most people make.  Eventually, I stopped making them because I knew I’d just end up forgetting them in a matter of weeks.

But a couple of years ago, I took a different approach.

To me, the word “resolutions” has an almost negative sound to it.  So instead, I decided to set goals.  I think it’s a more positive word.   And I’m less likely to give up on a goal.

So that’s what I do.  I think of things I’d like to accomplish throughout the year, and set them as my goals.  Some are small; some a little bigger; some pretty big.  I like to challenge myself, but not so much that I get discouraged.  It’s a fine line.

2014 was a tough year, lots of ups and downs.  I managed to push & challenge myself in some areas, but not in others.  I’m hoping to do better in 2015.

So that being said, what do I want to accomplish in 2015?

1) Do more races.  In 2014, I exceeded my own expectations and finished 7 races.  In 2015, I’m shooting for 10.  It’s a bit lofty, but I think I can do it.

2) Along those lines, for one of those 10 races, I’m going to do my first half-marathon.  And let me tell you, I’m a bit scared.  No, not scared.  Terrified is more like it.  That’s 21.1km.  I’m never even walked that distance all at once, much less run it.  But I’m going to do it this year.  I’m not officially registered yet, but hoping that I will be soon.  The race I’m looking at is at the beginning of October.

3) More running.  As in 2014, I want to up my running game.  And doing a half marathon certainly will help with that.  But in general, I want to run more.  I want to run farther, longer, and maybe even faster.

4) Get back into the gym.  I left my gym in early 2014 with the hopes of joining a new one quickly.  The car accident put a damper on that.  So I spent much of the year working on my cardio, and doing workouts that require little to no equipment.  I was in a gym a few times in the last couple of months, and I realized just how badly I need to get back in there.

5) Spend more time with friends.  I don’t get to see my friends nearly enough.  I know we all get busy with life, but friendships are important too.  Even if we just meet up briefly for coffee, or go for a walk together, anything really.  I just would like to see them more often.

6) Write more.  My blog was a little neglected in 2014.  I hope to do better in 2015.

7) Read more.  I said this for 2014, and while I did read several books, I didn’t read as much as I really wanted to.

8) Not be so hard on myself.  I’m my own worst critic.  I get down on myself far too often. I need to get better at that.  I need to remember that I’m not perfect and that’s okay.  I need to remember that every little bit counts.  I need to remember that it’s okay to make a mistake, it’s not the end of the world.  I need to pick myself up, dust myself off, and keep going.  There’s a Japanese proverb that says “Fall down seven times, Stand up eight.”  I need to remember that.

Okay, I know that’s not much in the way of goals for the year, but a couple of them are pretty big.

I’m looking forward to seeing just what I can do this year.

Happy New Year everyone!

 

 

 

2 responses to “Hello 2015!

  1. Wonderful goals, my friend, all of them! I so admire your commitment and tenacity and would like steal some of it for myself. You kind of amaze me. And I’m in for walks and coffee and chats!

Leave a Reply

