My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

December 2014 recap

on December 29, 2014

Well here we are at another months’ end.  Time is just going by so fast lately!

I started December with something different.  I decided to try a run streak.  Instead of doing 8k a day, 5 days a week, I wanted to see if I could do a short run/walk every day.  I made it 10 days before I was exhausted and needed to take a few days off.   I think the problem was trying to do too much, which is why I think I couldn’t sustain it.  I was doing 3-5kms each day, sometimes longer.  I think if/when I do it again, I’ll have a better plan.

The weather so far this winter has not been too bad.  We have not had a lot of snow so I’ve been able to be outside more.  It has been cold, so I’ve been layering up, but I still need some warmer clothes.

I even did another race this month.  It was another charity run put on by the local running store.  Another free entry too.  This one was for the local food bank, a great cause.  They said it was 7.3km, but my running app said it was almost 8km.  Either way, it was a good run/walk.  I was cold and my muscles were sore afterwards, but I’m glad I did it.  I hope to do it again next year.

Tyler and I had to stop training again.  I knew it was going to happen.  He’s busy building a new life for him and his family.  I’m super proud of him.  And we remain good friends.

I spent a lot of time in the Celebrate the Hero office this month too.  I love working there.  It makes my heart and soul happy.  And the people there are so great.

As usual, things got busy with the holidays.  I baked a lot of cookies and gave most of them away.  I even tried a couple new things this year, which is always fun.  Dan and I spent a couple of days at his brother’s house for Christmas, which we do most years.  I love spending time with them.  We don’t see them as often as I’d like though.  We didn’t have any snow for Christmas, but that’s okay.  After opening gifts, I decided to go out for a run.  It was a nice day, although a little chilly.  I had intended on just going a couple of kms, but I was really enjoying myself, so I ended up going almost 6km.  And then the next day, we all went out a family walk.  It was awesome.

I’ve been doing a little more relaxing this month than normal.  I felt I deserved a little bit of a break.  I’ll hit it hard again next month though.

Well that’s it, I think.  Like I said, this month went by really fast.

 

2 responses to “December 2014 recap

  1. Jeffrey Zaben says:

    Nice…you sound great, with all these changes. And very much like you are finding a balance. Way to Go.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

