My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

“Win the day” part 2

on December 3, 2014

This is a followup to the post I did last month, which you can read here:

My two biggest goals right now are: getting to my goal weight, and completing a half marathon.

Getting to my goal weight I know will take time.  I’m getting there slowly but surely.   While sometimes it does scare me, it doesn’t terrify me.  What scares me about that goal is how far away I am from it.  I’ve come a long way, but I still have a long way to go.

With this goal, I win the day by eating properly and exercising daily.  I win the day each time I step on the scale and see a lower number than the time before.  I win the day each time my clothes fit looser or I need to buy a smaller size.  I win the day with each new thing I do, each goal I accomplish.

But completing a half marathon does terrify me.

Especially since I have that goal set for 2015.

A half marathon has been on my bucket list for a while.  And I had been thinking I was at least a couple of years away from doing it.  But friends convinced me to move it up to next year.  I already have the race picked out that I want to do, although I’m not officially registered for it yet.  It’s a local race, which is important to me.  I also picked this particular race, in part, because it’s not until October of 2015.  Which, in theory, gives me plenty of time to train for it.

A half marathon is 13.1 miles (or 21.1 kilometres).  That’s a lot!  What terrifies me most about it is I’ve never even walked that distance, much less run it!  My longest walk is about 12 kms (which is just under 7.5 miles); and my longest run is 10 kms (6.2 miles).

When I first decided I would do this, I got scared.  Really scared.  I was worried I couldn’t do it.  I was worried I was just kidding myself, that it was a near-impossible goal.  I could hear that little voice in my head calling me crazy for even thinking about it.

It took me a couple of weeks to stop thinking that way.  I told myself that it IS doable, it’s not impossible.  I told myself to do what I did with other goals I’ve accomplished — break it down into smaller goals; don’t necessarily focus on the big goal.  Okay, so maybe right now I can’t run or walk 21.1 kms. But that doesn’t mean I’ll never be able to.

So I changed how I thought about it, and broke it down into more manageable goals.

The end goal remains the same — cross the finish line after running/walking 21.1 kms.

The end date remains the same — October 2015.

And while those things are always in the back of my mind, they are not currently my main focus.

My main focus now is building up my endurance to eventually be able to go that far.  So each month, I set a goal of how many kms I want to hit.  And I will increase that each month until I get to where I want to be.  But then I broke it down even further.  I have weekly goals and daily goals.  Much of the summer, I was doing 5km a day, at least 3 days a week.  When I decided to do the half marathon, my trainer had me up it to 8km a day, 5 days a week.  And that seemed like a lot before I started it.  And now that I’m pretty much used to doing that, I’ll increase it again.  Do I run all the time? No, but I do the best I can.  Sometimes I have to walk.  But what is important is getting the kms in.

Over the winter, it might be a little tougher to get my kms in outdoors.  This will be the first year I will try running outside in the cold.  It might take me a while to get used to that.  So I might have to do a few short runs outside before I can start doing longer ones.  But I’m lucky enough to live near an indoor track, so I can always go there.  And I can always hit the gym for time on the treadmill.  Either way, I’m determined to keep my training going.  Because October 2015 may seem far away now, but time tends to fly by when you’re not looking.

I will also continue with my strength training.  I do as much as can with little to no equipment.  But honestly, I’m looking forward to getting back into a regular gym again.  Hopefully soon.

I’m also looking forward to trying new things in the new year to mix things up and keep myself from getting bored.  I’m hoping to try yoga and maybe even tai chi.

And, of course, I will continue eating as clean as I can.  When I eat good food, I feel good.  When I eat crap, I feel like crap.  And I want to try new foods or revisit ones I think I don’t like.  I started doing that this year, and have really been enjoying it.

All of these things will not only help get me to my half marathon goal, they will also help get me to my goal weight.

Each day, I get up and do the best I can to accomplish what ever goals I’m working towards.

And in the end, that’s how I win the day.

Leave a Reply

