My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

October recap (2014)

on November 1, 2014

Well another month has come to an end.  Where has the time gone?  This year seems to be going by really fast!

I didn’t run any races in October.  I had the chance to run one the first weekend of October, but I was still pretty sore from the race I ran the last weekend of September, so I decided against it.

I continued to log a lot of kilometres between running and walking.  Most of the kms this month were from running.  Between running and walking, I covered a total of 173km in October.  I would have logged a few more, but I had a little issue.  Earlier this week, I was running around the indoor track and landed a little funny on my right foot.  It’s been a little sore for a few days, so I’ve been taking it a little easy.  Hopefully I’ll be back on track for November.

Around mid-month, I started stretching more before running.  I’ve always known stretching is important.  I always did a little bit beforehand.  But for some reason, I decided to do more to see if it would help.  So a couple of weeks ago, I started stretching for about 20 minutes before running.  The first class I ever took when I joined my first gym was a stretch class, so I tried to remember some of the stuff we did in that class.   Nothing too hard or strenuous, just easy gentle stretches.  And I think it’s really helping.

I continued my workouts with Tyler.  We did more leg work, which hopefully will help my running.  And we started working with weights more.  It feels good to be back at it.  I haven’t done much with weights since before the car accident.  I still have to be careful with my shoulder, use lighter weights and watch movements, but I think I’m making progress there.  It will be a while yet before I can do heavier weights like I was doing last year.  But I’ll get there.

The biggest thing I did this month was deciding to do a half marathon next year.  It’s something that’s been on my goal list.  I had been thinking I was probably 3 years away from being able to do it.  But Tyler thinks I can do it next year.  So after talking with him and a few other friends, I decided to make the leap.  I’m terrified, but excited.  It’s not until October of next year, so I have lots of time to train.

Overall, I think October was a pretty good month.  Some days felt better than others.  I just have to keep reminding myself that every little bit counts.  Hopefully I’m making progress with both my running and my workouts.  I’ll just keep doing the best I can.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

