My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

My wandering mind

on October 27, 2014

I’ve noticed something recently.

My mind tends to wander while my feet are pounding the pavement.

I don’t know if this has always happened and I’m just noticing it now; or if this is something new.

It doesn’t matter if I’m outside or inside.

It doesn’t matter the distance or time I plan to go.

It doesn’t matter if I’m running, walking, or both.

And it doesn’t even matter if I have music or not.  This one surprises me a little, to be honest.  When I’m outside, I only put 1 earbud in so I could still pay attention to what’s going on around me.  Sometimes I don’t use them at all.  Inside, I normally put both in.

Slight off-topic for a second.  A couple of weeks ago, my favourite duckie earbuds started to die.  Very upsetting.  They are so cute.  When people ask about them, I would always say “you can’t be unhappy with ducks sticking out of your ears.”  I’m currently looking for another pair, or something just as cute.  I still listen to my music most of the time, but I put it on low if other people are around or if I’m inside.  If I’m relatively alone or outside, I put the volume higher.  I’m sort of getting used to running without earbuds, which I think is fine for outside.  But for running inside, I would still like to wear them.

Anyway, back to the topic at hand.

I’m not sure when I started noticing it.  Maybe it was when I started running farther.  Maybe it was a day when I had a lot on my mind.  Maybe it was a day when I was struggling with my run.

At first I tried to get my mind to concentrate on my running.  But it kept wandering off to other topics.

It took me a while to realize that is actually a good thing.

Now I let my mind go wherever it wants to.

And I think it actually is helping my running.  I don’t quite understand how or why, but I’m not going to question it.  It’s working.

I seem to be able to go farther than I could before.  I don’t seem to struggle as much either.

It kind of cracks me up when I think about the different topics my mind wanders to.   It changes all the time.  Each run is a little different.

Some days I replay conversations in my head.  Or possible future conversations.

I think about my blog.  Sometimes I write posts in my head while running.

I think about the races I’ve run recently.  And sometimes I jump ahead to ones I plan on running, or would like to run.

I think about my family far away.  I think about my cats and what they might be up to when I’m not home.

I think about the squirrels who come to my yard every day looking for peanuts.

I think about the weather.

I think about football.  I think about hockey.

I think about travelling — places I’ve been to, places I want to visit.

I think about my journey — where I started, where I am now, where I’m going, where I hope to be in the future.

A song starts playing and I think about why I chose that song for my playlist.

I think about my friends and how lucky I am to have them in my life.  I think about how long I’ve known them.  I think about how I met some of them.

I think about tv shows and movies.  I think about celebrities.

I wonder if other runners think about weird stuff too when they’re out running.  I wonder what types of things they think about.

If I’m running outside, I often map my route out beforehand so I know where I’m going and what distance I should cover by the time I’m done.  So sometimes I think about how far I should have gone by a certain point.  And I sometimes double check my tracker to see if I’m right.

If I’m running inside, I sometimes count the number of laps I’m running, again to know how far I’ve gone and how much farther I have to go.

Sometimes, I’m not thinking about anything.  Sometimes I just listen to the sounds of my feet hitting the pavement (or the track).  There’s something kind of magical about that.

Or I just listen to myself breathing.  There’s something magical about that too.

 

What do you think about when you’re running?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

