My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Questions for fellow runners

on October 5, 2014

The more I get into running and doing races, the more I realize how little I really know.

I consider myself a newbie runner.  I started running last year, but was only able to run a couple minutes at a time.  It wasn’t until earlier this year that I could run for what I consider long periods.  And as with anything new, I found myself needing a lot of help and guidance.

I’ve found many fellow runners on twitter, and get a lot of advice from them.  I also do several twitter chats about running and racing ( #runchat – #racechat – #bibchat ), as well as ones about health/wellness, fitness, and motivation ( #wellnesschat – #healthywaymag – #poweredbybits ).  I’m always on the lookout for others, so if you know of any good ones, please let me know.  One of my favourites is actually about coffee ( #coffeechat ) but we sometimes talk about running as well.

These chats have provided some much needed information, advice, motivation, and inspiration.

But I still find myself with a lot of questions.

With that in mind, I decided to write this post in hopes I might get more answers, guidance, and information.

So where should I start? …

Shoes.  Always a good place to start. I know proper shoes are essential.  I know the best place to get them is a running store.  Here’s a few things I would like to know or unsure about …

How often should I replace my shoes?

Should I buy more than 1 pair at a time?

For those who’ve been running for a while, are you loyal to one brand/one style?  Or do you like to mix it up?

Do you have different shoes for different terrains? Or for different types of weather?

Do you keep a separate pair for training indoors?

 

Let’s continue with other feet related questions …

Do you wear socks? (seems like a weird question, I know, but I know some people who don’t).  If you wear socks, are they a special type? If so, what kind are they?

How do you deal with blisters or calluses?

Do your toes ever cramp up when you run?  If so, how do you deal with that?

 

Let’s talk about water and fuel (food) …

Do you run with water?  I’ve found I can run without it in cooler temps, but when it’s hot and humid, I need to have water with me.

If you run with water, how do you carry it?  And how much do you carry?

Does the distance you run determine whether you carry water and/or fuel with you?  If so, at what distance do you carry it?

What kind of fuel do you use on a run?  How do you carry it?

How long before and/or after a run do you eat?  What are your favourite pre and post run foods?

 

Okay, on to other topics …

I’ve run in heat & humidity, but not in rain or snow … what do I need to know about running in colder temps?

I know I’ll need to dress warmer, but not sure what I should get.  Any advice?  What essentials that should be on my shopping list?

I’ve also only run during daylight … any advice on running in low light (early morning or evening)?

Do you prefer to run alone or with other people? Why?

When you first started running, did you have a coach or someone to help you?

Have you ever needed to correct your form or help with other running issues?  If so, what did you do?

 

Now let’s talk distance …

What is your favourite running/racing distance?  Why?

How long did it take you to work up to your farthest distance?

How often do you increase your distance?

When you first started, how often did you run?

How often do you run now?

 

One final question …

What is your best advice for someone new to running, like me?

 

Well that’s all the questions I have.  For know.  I’m sure I’ll come up with more as time goes on.  Don’t be surprised if you see another post like this one.  Maybe next time I won’t have as many LOL

I would appreciate any and all information/advice you can give.

Thanks.

 

 

 

4 responses to “Questions for fellow runners

  1. taraingram says:

    I’m a fairly newbie runner too! I’ve been doing it for less than 2 years, but I’d love to throw my 2 cents in…
    Shoes- definitely go to a running store and try on several pairs. I have tried many different brands and Brooks are my favorites so far. When I started running I was an overpronator, but in the last year I’ve lost weight and changed my running style and I’m now a neutral shoes. Get refitted every once in a while. I buy new shoes every three months. I run and do a bootcamp 5 days a week, so I’m hard on my shoes.
    Definitely socks. I look for sport ones with the arch support.
    I rarely get blisters but bandaid makes blister bandages that are awesome. I’ve also, knock on wood, never lost a toenail.
    I fuel with Gu or Sportsbeans, depending on the weather, for any runs over an hour and a half. I carry powerade in a fuel belt too. I hate carrying anything in my hands. It makes me feel tense and unbalanced.
    I eat a banana before runs and whatever I want after. Haha.
    I run generally at 5:30am. I prefer mornings to evening runs bc I’ve been up and on my feet all day and my belly is way full.
    I have a running group. It makes it easier to get through runs when you have someone with you, holding you accountable and providing motivation and encouragement for each other.
    Distance is something you have to work up to, over time. I think my favorite distance is probably a 10miler or half marathon.
    I run 2-3 days a week or about 15 miles not during training. Right now I’m training for a marathon so I’m up to about 30 miles a week.
    My advice…run your own race. You are only competing with yourself. It doesn’t matter how fast or slow, a mile is a mile. Don’t give up.
    Hope some of that helps! It’s nice to get other’s thoughts and opinions. You seem excited about it, so stay excited, it helps!!

    • jenncoleman says:

      Thank you! I appreciate the feedback. I am actually excited about it, which I find a little odd because I hated running as a kid. Whenever I do a race, I don’t worry about my time, I worry about crossing the finish line. I know that speed will come with time. Or at least I hope it does. I try to take it one run at a time. It’s hard sometimes, but I’m working on it. I run mostly alone, but only because I don’t have anyone to run with. Hopefully I can convince friends to run with me some time soon. Anyway, thanks again for your input. It does help 🙂

      • taraingram says:

        I hated running until the day I started and even kinda hated it a little then. But I couldn’t stop now if I tried. It is a stress reliever, a way to be able to eat anything I want (haha), and I have made some of the greatest friends.
        Crossing the finish line is my only goal ever. Haha! My friend and I are running our first marathon in a month and my only goal is to finish and not die before I reach the finishline.
        Keep at it! Good luck in your friend convincing. I promise it only takes a few runs and the promise of yummy food after to get them hooked! 😉

      • jenncoleman says:

        a few of my friends are runners, but they are way faster than me. I have to convince them to go my pace. Maybe the promise of homemade cookies will do the trick LOL. Almost all my races have been 5Ks. I’m hoping maybe to do one or two 10Ks next year. Eventually I want to do a half marathon, but I’m not even close to that yet. But I’m working on it!

Leave a Reply

