My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Running goals

on June 28, 2014

As I’ve said many times, I’m new to running.  It’s not something I ever thought I’d do, want to do, or even enjoy.  And yet, here I am.  It’s amazing what happens when you challenge yourself.

Anyway, as I continue to work on improving my running, I thought it best to set some running goals.

This is where my newness comes into it.

I really have no idea what I’m doing.

When Tyler and I were working together, he got me started.  He helped me a bit with my form and breathing.  But I’ve been on my own since he went back to school.

I’ve done a lot of reading, and I’ve connected with many runners on twitter.  And that’s helped.  But even that can only go so far.

I knew that I needed better shoes, which I finally managed to get.

I know not to start out too fast, which isn’t a problem really since I’m a slow runner.

My longest run without stopping is 4 miles, which is pretty good I think.  At least it is for me.

Mostly I just run about 5k, or a little over.  I have a couple different apps I use to keep track of my time and distance.  I’m not too worried about my time, though.

I like to do local 5k races.  There are several in my area throughout the year.  I’d like to keep doing them.  And I would like to eventually move up to bigger races in other areas.

But to do that, I need to improve.

The problem, as I said, is I don’t really know what I’m doing.

I put on my running shoes, put in my ear buds, turn on the music, and run.  That’s pretty much all I do.

But I don’t know how well I’m doing.  I don’t know if my form is right or if I’m breathing right.  I don’t know how to increase my speed or my distance.

And I know I need to set some goals.

So this is what I’ve come up with so far:

1) Increase my running distance – I would like to be able to run 10k within a year

2) Increase speed – I would like to be able to run 5k in less than 45 minutes

And someday, I’d like to be able to do a half marathon.  But I have no idea how long it will take me to get to that point.

Are these realistic goals?

I have no idea.

I think if I had someone to run with maybe I’d know more.

Maybe they could tell me what I’m doing right or wrong.  Maybe they could help me improve.

Maybe they could tell me if my goals are realistic; and if they are, how to go about achieving them.

Until I find someone, I’ll just keep doing what I’m doing — lacing up my shoes, putting in my ear buds, turning on my music, and going for a run.

turtle

Leave a Reply

