My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Today’s workout – February 25th

on February 25, 2014

Ok normally I don’t write a post specifically about a workout, but I’m making an exception today.

Today I had a great workout. I rocked it! I’m so proud of myself.

Instead of going to the gym, I decided to go to the wellness centre and use the indoor track. I set a goal of doing 5k no matter how long it took. I was a little worried I would have a hard time, but I was determined to do it.

I haven’t been pushing my cardio very hard lately. I’d been doing an hour on the treadmill or elliptical and then done. And to be honest, I’ve been bored. I have been wanting to get outside, but the weather has been preventing it. But hopefully Spring is on the way and I can get outside. In the meantime, I think using the track is a good alternative.

So anyway, back to the workout.

According to the info at the track, you need to walk almost 10 laps to equal 1 mile. So that meant I’d need 30 laps for 3 miles or 5k. A little daunting, but I was determined. I even wore my new pink sweats and pink shirt. Sort of matches my pink running shoes and pink hat.

So I start by walking the first lap. I have some of my favourite music playing on my phone and my yellow duckie earbuds in my ears. At the start of the second lap, I start jogging. Now I’m not very fast. In fact, there was several walkers going faster than me, but I was jogging. And it felt good.

I went around 6 times before I needed a little break, so I walked the next lap.  But then I went back to jogging.  I was struggling a bit, but I didn’t give up.  I kept at it.

Another lap, and then another, and then another.

When I felt like giving up, I could hear Tyler telling me I could do it, that I was doing great.  It was almost like he was right there jogging next to me.

Another lap and another and another.

The music I was listening to was really helping.  I skipped past a few slower songs so I could keep the pace going.

Another lap and another.

I was trying not to pay attention to the time.  I picked a spot as my starting line and would count the laps as I went.

Another and another and another.

And finally I hit 30 laps.  And then walked one more for good measure (and to cooldown).

And then I looked at the time — 1:07:23.  Not my fastest, but not my slowest.

But the time didn’t really matter.

What mattered most was I jogged almost the entire thing.

And that made me extremely proud of myself.

I made a goal.  And I did it.  And I didn’t give up.

I ROCKED IT!

Am I sore? Oh yeah.

Does it matter? no, not really.

Am I going to do it again? Hell yes!

There’s no stopping this skinny bitch!

turtle

Leave a Reply

