My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Asking for help

on January 21, 2014

This has been a tough one for me in the past.

I grew up very shy and very introverted.  I didn’t start coming out of my shell until I was in my 20s.  I did not ask for help often, even when I knew I needed it.  I would struggle through whatever was giving me trouble.  Although, admittedly, sometimes it was just my stubbornness that would get in the way.  And sometimes I think it was the fear of losing control that prevented me from asking for help.

But the older I get, the more I realize that there is no shame in asking for help.  In fact, it’s often the best thing to do.  And the idea of losing control over something just because you ask for help is quite simply a little ridiculous.  I wish I had learned those lessons when I was younger.

When I started this journey to a healthier me, I knew from the beginning that I would help… and lots of it!  At the beginning I did a lot of reading, watching health segments on tv, searching online for information.  It helped get me started, but I knew it wouldn’t be enough.  But of course, I didn’t really know where to find the help I needed.

Our friend Sharlene was the one who suggested we join Quinte’s Biggest Loser in 2012 when it started.  The first year, I think there was a group of 8 of us who joined.  I’m not sure how many joined the second year.  (And for the record, for some reason they are not doing it on this year).  They had nutrition classes, plus we got free passes to some of the local gyms and lots and lots of information.  Plus I met some really awesome people.  It really kicked up my journey in a big way.

And because I started going to the gym, I met other people who could help me, most important of all is Tyler.  Asking him to help me was the one of the scariest, yet best things I ever did.  His help has been priceless to me.

But I’ve met many people who’ve helped me too, whether they realize they have or not.  Sometimes, their help has just been being a friend, listening to my troubles, or cheering me on.  Sometimes they have given me ideas for my blog.  Sometimes they answer my questions or show me a better way to do something.

One of the most important lessons I’ve learned in the journey is never to be afraid to ask for help.  We can all use help, whether we want to admit it or not.  I’m not afraid to admit that I need the help.

And right now, I could use some help.

I need to add exercises to the ones I already have.  Ones I can do at home or outside, not just ones for the gym.  Ones where I need little or no equipment. Know a book you think might help?  Have a favourite website? Let me know! I can use all the suggestions I can get.

I need suggestions for healthy snacks and meals.  Do you have a favourite recipe? What’s your go-to snack?

I need help with motivation and inspiration.  Do you have a favourite quote that helps you? Maybe a favourite celebrity or fitness guru? Any tips or tricks you like to use to keep yourself going when you struggle?

2 responses to “Asking for help

  1. leannenalani says:

    Have you tried Zumba? When I was looking for exercises to do at home that is what got me to truly like exercise to the point where I really looked forward to it. They have DVD sets and also great Xbox 360 Kinect games.

    Another good DVD set is The Firm with weights. There are different Firm programs. I’m not sure which one is the big thing right now, but the Total TransFIRMation system was the set I really liked.

    My fitness idols are Jillian Michaels and Bob Harper – I have some of their workout DVD’s and love them. Jillian is my idol.

    Go-to snacks – Greek yogurt, fruit, sometimes I’ll chop up an apple, throw cinnamon on it, and microwave it for 2 minutes. Then I’ll put it over Greek yogurt. A tablespoon of PB with some cheddar cheese… I like putting peanut butter on a rice cake and then putting raisins over the top.

    • jenncoleman says:

      Thanks! Those are great suggestions 🙂
      I have tried Zumba once. It was fun, but not sure how often I could do it.
      I like Bob and Jillian too.
      rice cakes and peanut butter are one of my favourite snacks too. I sometimes drizzle a little honey or granola on top.

Leave a Reply

