My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Mission: Pay someone a compliment

on November 6, 2013

A couple of weeks ago, the weekly mission for Celebrate the Hero was to pay someone a compliment.  Easy to do really.  With the number of people we encounter every day, it’s easy to say something nice to someone each day.  As connected as most of us are with social media, I decided to take the mission one step further.  Each day, I picked a few people from my friends list on Facebook and posted something nice about them on their wall.   A lot of the people on my facebook live far away, most are family members as well as some old friends.  I don’t get to see them often, although we stay in touch as much as we can.   That’s why I thought this would be a great idea.  These are just a few examples of what I posted.

On one friend’s wall I wrote:

You are one of the friendliest people I know

On another’s, I wrote:

I admire your determination

On yet another, I wrote:

You are a great inspiration

On my brother’s wall, I wrote:

You’ve always been a very creative person.  I’ve always admired that about you.

On another one, I wrote:

You have a great smile

I even took to twitter to post to some of the people I follow there, and even some of my favourite celebrities.  One tweet I sent was favourited by the celebrity I sent it to.  That really made my day!

One friend asked what brought on the compliment I posted to him.  So I explained about the mission.  They thought it was pretty cool.  A few people even posted compliments back to me.

I didn’t do it to get a compliment back.  I just wanted to let them know I was thinking about them.  And I hoped it might make their day a little brighter.  I know it did mine.

5de91dc5c4df5a0335a4b6e2568b7eac

Leave a Reply

