My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

To nourish my soul

on September 3, 2013

As I move along in my journey to become a healthier person, I’ve come to realize my soul needs as much attention as my body. Off and on over the years I’ve thought about volunteering somewhere, giving back to my community. And I’ve done things here and there, but nothing really major. A couple of weeks ago, something inside told me the time is now, that I needed to find something that I can put my heart into and nourish my soul.

So I considered a few different options, and although they are great organizations, nothing jumped out and said this was the one. Then I remembered Celebrate The Hero. I was introduced to the organization last year, and even blogged about them. I love what they are trying to do, what they are doing. So I sent Nick an email asking if they needed volunteers. I didn’t know what I could do for them exactly, I just knew I wanted to help. Nick and I arranged to chat over coffee. I was very nervous, but excited. We had a great meeting. And I’m thrilled to say we will be working together! I will be doing a number of things, helping get done what needs to be done, but the one thing I’m most enthusiastic about is writing a blog. It’s not just that I’ll be writing, it’s what I will be writing about that has me so fired up: I will be looking for good people, events, organizations, businesses in my community and writing about them. How awesome is that!!

As I explained to Nick, I stopped reading the newspaper and watching the news for the most part because I got tired of reading/hearing so much bad news and not enough good news. I know there is good in the world. Good things happen every day. We just don’t get to hear about it as much. I want to change that.

And that’s why I’m so excited about my work with Celebrate the Hero. I want to celebrate my community. I want to bring attention to those who are doing good. I want to promote organizations, events, and people that are making our world a better place. I want to show the world there is a lot of good things happening if you just open your eyes.

So if you live in my area and you know of something good you think I should write about, please let me know.  I’m open to all ideas.

And if you aren’t in my area, look around for the good in your community and spread the word.

Be part of the good.  Be part of the change you want to see in the world.

focusonthegood

Leave a Reply

