My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

1st month with new plan

on July 31, 2013

Okay so I’ve been working out with my new fitness plan for a month now.  And I think it’s going okay for the most part.

Tyler gave me a bunch of workouts before he left.  Different workouts to do on different days.  All are moves we had done together so I knew how to do them.  I’m seeing improvement in some areas.  There are a couple of moves I’m struggling a bit with, but I’m working on them.  I’m still getting used to working out alone.  It’s weird.  I’m so used to having someone there, encouraging you, pushing you, correcting your form.  It’s hard doing that alone.  Sometimes I can tell if my form is right, other times I can’t.  Occasionally there are others working out at the gym, and they offer help if they see I need it.

My cardio, on the other hand, is lacking a bit.  And it’s frustrating.  Tyler also gave me a new cardio regimen before he left.  About 2 weeks into it, my right foot starting hurting.  I don’t know what I did.  My doctor thinks I’m just putting too much pressure on it.  He recommended I slow down and get arch supports for my shoes.  I’ve done that, but I’m still having the problem.  There are some days that I can’t do cardio at all.  I’m waiting to hear back from my doctor again to see what else I should do.  Hopefully we can figure out what’s going on and fix it so I can get my cardio back on track.

My nutrition is pretty much on target.  I’m staying within a certain calorie range most days.  I occasionally have a bad day or a bad meal, but not often.  I’m getting better at controlling my food.  I still deal with cravings now and then, but I’m able to overcome them most of the time.

Tyler has started sending me workout videos.  Some of the moves are a bit challenging, but I’m okay with that.  I need to learn new things.  There have only been a few moves I haven’t been able to do, but I will continue to work on them.  I’m happy he’s still willing to help me from far away.  I worry sometimes that him helping me like this while at school will add stress to his life.  I certainly don’t want to do that.  What he’s doing is important.  Anyway, for now it seems to be okay.

So that’s the update for now.  Like I said, the new plan seems to be working okay.  I’ll keep the updates going.

Leave a Reply

