My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Being on a plateau

on July 16, 2013

Anyone who’s been on a weight loss journey knows that plateaus happen. And they know that being on one sucks.

For me, it’s a time when I really being to doubt myself. I try and try and try, but the scale doesn’t seem to want to move. I try to remember that it’s only temporary. I try to remind myself that I’m building muscle as I’m losing weight, and as long as I’m still losing inches, it’s okay. But some days it’s hard. Some days I just want to give up, throw in the towel.

I’ve been on a plateau now for about 3 months. And I hate it. I’m so frustrated some days. I’m not giving up, but it’s hard. There are days that I really struggle. But I’m doing my best to hold on. I have promises to keep. I intend to keep fighting until I win the war.

I’m pushing myself as hard as I can. A little too hard in the case of my cardio as it turns out. At the beginning of July, I amped up my cardio. I started walking a lot faster on the treadmill, and trying to increase my jogging speed and time. Well last week my right foot seemed to decide enough was enough. I started having pains in my arch. It seemed to be fine all day, even through my strength training, until about 30 minutes into my cardio when the pains would start. I happen to already have a doctor appointment scheduled, so I talked to him about it while I was there. He thinks I’m forcing it too much, that I need to slow down. Short burst of speed are fine, but extended periods are putting too much pressure on my arch. He suggested I get arch supports for my shoes and to slow down. And to let him know if it gets worse.

While I’m happy it doesn’t seem to be too bad, I’m disappointed in myself. I should have known better. I know that I can’t go from 0 to 60 like a car. I need to build up to faster and longer speeds. I need to stop being in such a hurry to get to the finish line. I’m anxious to get off this plateau, to move to the next level. But I need to do it safely. I need to stop looking for the quick fix. I need to remember that this is a marathon, not a sprint. As Tyler always tells me, “slow and steady wins the race.”

This plateau won’t last forever. Soon the scale will start to go down again. I just need to stay calm and train on. I need to keep eating as clean as I can. I need to continue my daily workouts. I need to continue to believe in myself. And if I have a bad day, I need to pick myself up, dust myself off, and try again.

2 responses to “Being on a plateau

  1. leannenalani says:

    Good attitude. 🙂 At least exercise is only 20% of the battle, so focus on food while toning down the exercise and I’ll bet the plateau will end soon.

  2. savagexrowds says:

    Don’t worry! You are not alone in the battle against the “plateau”. I am also in the same case and like you I also have (or had) a leg/foot problem. My right knee is like a 90 year old’s knee often having arthritic pain so I don’t push myself too much else I’ll be sidelined for a long time like what happened to me late last year (from July to November 2012 my knee was gone). Take it easy else your weight loss battle will suffer if you have injuries especially to your lower body. Try doing other forms of cardio. I’m now doing swimming. Also, leannenalani is correct about food. Don’t worry we’ll get there!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

