My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

New fitness plan

on July 1, 2013

Once again, I’m being taken out of my comfort zone. No, that’s not quite right. It’s more like I’m being catapulted out of my comfort zone.

With Tyler returning to school to finish his degree (which I’m very proud of him for doing), our training will switch to virtual. Which, of course, means I will be doing much more on my own. And that has me a little worried. I do well when I’m working with someone, but how well am I going to do by myself? Will I be able to push myself hard enough? Do I know enough to make sure my form is correct? Can I keep myself from getting hurt? Can I keep myself on track?

So we sat down the other day to write out a new fitness plan. Goals for me to work on, rules I need to follow, daily routines to do. In addition, once he gets settled in, he will be making workout videos and sending them to me. We will also have an accountability session, where we discuss how things are going. And, of course, I will continue to do my food journal. I’m excited to see how it will all work. And hopefully it will work well.

I will be working out at least 5 days a week, preferably 6. I will do strength training 3-4 days a week, and cardio every day. And I now keep a workout journal.

Strength training is broken down into 4 categories — push day, pull day, leg day, and core. Each category has a variety of exercises to choose from. All of them are ones I’ve done before with Tyler. Each day, I’m to write down what exercises I pick from the list, what weight I use (if applicable), and any notes about each one. At the end of the workout, I write down how much time it took me to complete the workout. At some point, Tyler will review my workout journal.

Cardio is not much different than it was before. At the gym, it’s an hour on the treadmill, doing a 5k walk/jog (minimum), burning at least 400 calories. If I choose to do more cardio, I can pick between the elliptical, the stair stepper, and the AMT (all movement terrain) machine. I can also choose to do my cardio outside. If I do that, I have to do 10k. I’m still not super good at jogging, but I’m working on it. Part of my new goals is to improve my jogging. So I need to do a little every day, working up to jogging at least 10 minutes without stopping. That seems a little daunting to me, but I’m going to do my best.

As with any fitness plan, nutrition is very important. I think more so for me because I’m a stress-eater and an emotional-eater. The stress of this change could send me into a tailspin, but I’m trying really hard not to let it. I’m trying to be extra careful about what I eat. And making sure I write everything down, including the number of calories for each meal and snack. Tyler will continue to review this as well.

Tyler is a big part of my journey. I’ve come a long way with his help, but I still have a long way to go. I’m worried about getting off track and not being able to get back on. I know he’s only a text or call away, and that does help. I also have a lot of support at my gym, many people willing to help me as much as I need. That’s priceless to me. And I think I’m going to need all the help I can get as I get used to this new fitness plan.

One response to “New fitness plan

  1. leannenalani says:

    Structure and having someone to discuss your efforts with I think will keep you on track. 🙂

Leave a Reply

