My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Goals completed

on June 23, 2013

At the beginning of the year, I made a list of 4 goals that I wanted to accomplish this year. I know that 4 goals doesn’t sound like much, but I didn’t want to put too much pressure on myself. To recap, the goals I set for the year were:

1) participate in and complete a 10k event
2) learn to jog/run
3) learn to use the elliptical
4) walk 50 laps at the Relay For Life event

The first goal I completed was #3 and I did it on January 1st! I admit I was a little scared of the elliptical. I tried using one at my old gym, but I couldn’t quite get it and it frustrated me. That was part of the reason I set it as a goal for this year. So when I stepped on it on January 1, I was determined to last as long as I could. That first day I lasted 11 minutes. The next day it was 17 minutes, then 20 minutes, 25 minutes. Each time I lasted a little longer than the time before, I felt like I could fly! Now I regularly do an hour. It’s a great workout. My time record on the elliptical is 90 minutes. I did it to prove that I could do it. It was pretty awesome.

The next goal I completed was #2, and I started that one on January 9th. I did a blog post about too. You can read that one here. I’m not super good at it, but I feel like each time I do it, I get a little better. Or at least I hope so. It really helps having proper running shoes. When I first began, I didn’t. But now that I have them, I’m feeling much better about my progress.

The next goal completed was #1, and that one I did on April 21st. It was one of the hardest things I had ever done! But I was very proud of myself for doing it. Originally I was thinking I might do two of them this year, but now, probably not. We will just have to see.

So in less than 4 months, I had completed 3 of the 4 goals. I was pretty excited about that! And pretty proud of myself. And feeling pretty damn good too.

I knew the final goal was going to be a little harder. But I also had 2 chances to complete it – in Arizona with Jeff and his family, and then here at home. In Arizona, I managed 46 laps. My feet were hurting so bad by the end. It was more laps than I had ever walked before. Although I didn’t hit my goal, I was still proud of myself. And I knew I’d have another chance at home.

So my last chance at goal #4 was this weekend at our Relay For Life. I had proper shoes this time too. So I walked and walked and walked some more. And when I didn’t think I could walk anymore, I would take a little break and then walk some more. And in the end I did it. I walked 50 laps. Last goal completed. What a rush!

So there you have it. Four goals set at the beginning of the year, and four goals completed in less than six months. And if that isn’t inspiration and motivation to keep myself going, I’m not sure what is.

Now what should I do with the rest of the year?! 😉

One response to “Goals completed

  1. leannenalani says:

    Wow that’s excellent. It sounds like you’ll finish that last goal before the end of the year. I love that you jumped right in the first day of the year on that elliptical. Those machines are glorious! I haven’t used on in years but I used to be a regular. Maybe your next goals can be related to adding some muscle building? Or do you already do that? It’s great for metabolism.

Leave a Reply

