My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

“When the student is ready, the teacher will come”

on May 27, 2013

I almost always take the bus to the gym. I live in a smallish town and our public transit is pretty good. And to be honest, I actually enjoy the ride. It gives me a chance to think, to read, to write, to play games on my phone, or to finish waking up. And sometimes I chat with other people on the bus. I’ve had some pretty good conversations on the way to the gym.

There is one lady I’ve had several chats with since January. We’ve talked a lot about weight loss and my journey. A few weeks ago she was telling me that she was talking to a friend of hers about me. Her friend asked my name, and she laughed and said she didn’t know, she never asked. We both laughed about that. After all the conversations we’ve had, it never occurred to either of us that we didn’t know each others names. It only took 5 months, but she finally found out my name. And her name is Amber.

Not long after that, Amber and I were having a discussion about destiny and reasons things happen. I said, I don’t know how or why I got so lucky to have found Tyler, but I’m not questioning it. He has done more for me than I can really explain. I’ve never met anyone like him before. And she said “when the student is ready, the teacher will come.” She explained that when someone is ready, truly ready to make a change in their life, the person or persons who can best help will reveal themselves. I thought that was brilliant! I had never thought of it that way, but it makes complete sense. Because I’d proven I am serious this time about becoming a healthier person, Tyler showed up to help me. And, to be honest, I don’t think it’s just him. I think all the amazing friends I’ve made in the past year and a half showed up to help me along in my journey. Liz, Matt, Aidan, Karen, Jenn, Chase, Sarah, Sean, and Edel are just a few of the other wonderful people I now call my friends. They keep me inspired and motivated. And they are always there for me.

And it doesn’t just apply to a journey like mine. In theory, it could apply to any change or life journey. We all need support. We all need help in one way or another. When we really need it, that help shows up. The trick, of course, is learning to recognize it when it does. I hope I’ve been able to do that. I would hate to think that I’ve squandered a gift like that. And I hope all my supporters know just how much I appreciate everything they’ve done and continue to do for me. They mean the world to me. And I don’t know where I’d be without them.

Leave a Reply

