My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Struggling to get back into routine

on May 11, 2013

I’ve back from my trip to Arizona for a few days now but I’m struggling. Struggling to get back into my routine. Struggling to get back to normal. The day after I returned, I was at the gym. But it was hard. I barely managed to get through some cardio. The next day seemed just as hard. Tyler and I worked outside for the first time this year. We did hill runs. Although Tyler said I got my best time ever, I felt like I struggled badly. Why do things seem so much harder when we return after time off? I think the “old” me would have given up this week. But the “new” me doesn’t want to. The new me wants to keep going, to get back to what I should be doing. So why is it so hard? Why do I sometimes feel like I can’t do it? And it’s not just my workouts. I’m struggling to get back to my normal eating patterns too. I’m trying not to be hard on myself. I was gone for more than a week, so I know it will take time to get back into the swing of things. I just have to keep that in my head and do my best each day. And turn to my support crew when I feel like I’m slipping. And hopefully that will work.

One response to “Struggling to get back into routine

  1. leannenalani says:

    It’s wonderful that you’re sticking to it, though. Struggling is part of the journey but the best thing ever is that you don’t give up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

