My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Forgive me Tyler for I have sinned …

on May 2, 2013

I was bad. And not just a little. I ate a lot, and lot of it was not exactly the best things I could have chosen. I knew I’d be a little bad, but didn’t think I’d be as bad as I was. I ate a lot of good food. And most of it, I don’t regret eating. And I was way off schedule too. I wasn’t eating every 2-3 hours like I’m used to. It was often 4-5 hours between meals. And the meals were pretty large too. And then there was the snacking. Okay, some of the snacking was good, like apples and grapes, but a lot of it wasn’t. I tried to get pictures of everything, but I forgot a few times.

The day I left, I lost track of what I ate and when. But I started the day with a breakfast sandwich from Tim Horton’s. The night I arrived, we went to Red Robin. I had a burger with a side salad. I forgot to take a picture of it.

The next day we went to cold stone creamery. I had a kids size ice cream. It was delicious. That night, Jeff’s parents made breaded chicken corn on the cob for dinner. I forgot to take pictures again. We also had strawberries and whipped cream for dessert.

Tuesday, I did pretty good until dinner. Jeff and I went out for Mexican food. We loaded up on chips and salsa before we got our entrees. I had a sampler plate. It was fabulous! And we had sopapillas for dessert.

20130508-205652.jpg

20130508-205715.jpg

20130508-210238.jpg

Wednesday, I was pretty good until after lunch. I had a great 1/2 sandwich for lunch, but it was big! Then we went to Costco where we indulged in several samples as we walked around. Then for dinner, we went to ihop where I had eggs, hash browns, turkey bacon and cheesecake pancakes topped with strawberries and whipped cream.

20130508-210257.jpg

20130508-210316.jpg

20130508-210324.jpg

Thursday, I had pretzel bites at the mall in the afternoon. Then that night, Jeff’s parents made dinner again. We had baked ziti with ground turkey, garlic bread, and a salad of carrots, tomatoes and cucumbers. We had apple pie with whipped cream for dessert. Again, I forgot to take pictures.

Now Friday is where I went a little crazy. It was Relay day. For lunch, I had a 1/2 of a corned beef, pastrami, and brisket sandwich on rye bread, with a small side of coleslaw, and a mini cannoli for dessert. Dinner at the Relay was a chicken breast with a Marsala mushroom sauce, with pasta and Caesar salad, and a fortune cookie. During the rest of the night, I ate dried fruit, trail mix and beef jerky.

20130508-210347.jpg

20130508-210356.jpg

There are 12 mini cannoli there … but I didn’t eat them all … I only ate about half of them

20130508-210408.jpg

Saturday, we went to a Chinese buffet, including ice cream for dessert. And I had 2 more mini cannoli.

20130508-210419.jpg

That’s the 2nd plate I filled up at the buffet

20130508-210426.jpg

Sunday, I had the other half of the pastrami, corned beef and brisket sandwich for breakfast; a blt sandwich, with a mini chocolate covered pretzel blizzard at lunch; and for dinner we went out for Mexican again. We had bean dip and chips to start, then I had a cup of tortilla soup and chili verde for an entree, and a 3/4 of a cinnamon-sugar sopapilla with cream for dessert. Then later that night I had another mini cannoli.

20130508-210440.jpg

20130508-210449.jpg

Monday, we went out for breakfast where I had a skillet of potatoes with scrambled eggs, green chilies, chorizo and jalapeño cheese. Dinner was hamburgers, corn on the cob, tomatoes and cucumbers at Jeff’s parents. Dessert was angel food cake with strawberries and whipped cream and mini cannoli.

20130508-210458.jpg

Tuesday, I ate Doritos, trail mix, breakfast enchiladas with chorizo and scrambled eggs, and an ice cream cone from McDonald’s all before boarding my plane home. On the plane, I ate popcorn, trail mix, and beef jerky.

20130508-210507.jpg

20130508-210513.jpg

The worst part is I didn’t workout as much as I should have. While I did a fair amount of walking, especially at the Relay, Jeff and I only made it to the gym once, and we went swimming once.

I’m looking forward to getting back to my regular routine. And working off the indulging I did while I was away. I think next time I go away, I won’t leave the voice in my head at home.

Leave a Reply

