My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Peace and tranquility

on May 1, 2013

I’ve been a little stressed lately … Okay maybe a lot stressed. For a while I felt like I was going to go crazy. So much going on. So much pressure. I could feel the urge to just eat everything. I’m sure I’ve mentioned before that I’m an emotional eater and a stress eater. And I wasn’t sleeping well either. I felt like my workouts were suffering because of it all. I tried not to let it show but I know it did. I could see the concern on the faces of my friends. I confided in a couple of them. I think they were glad I wanted to talk about it. It did feel a little better to talk about what was going on. Not that it actually solved anything, but it was nice having someone listen. They offered hugs and some friendly advice. I gladly accepted both. I felt like I needed a break, needed to get away for a while. I was so glad when my trip to Arizona came up. A chance to get away from it all, visit an old friend, and enjoy some sunshine. Sometimes I think the gloom of winter takes a toll on me. And because winter wanted to hold on so long this year, I think it made things worse. I know that’s not all of it, but I think it contributed to it. I’ve been in Arizona for a few days now, and I’m really enjoying myself. It’s so beautiful here, so peaceful. The sky has been clear, the sun has been shining. It’s been hot but I’m loving it. I feel at peace. I feel like I’m getting back to my old self. I’m not under any pressure. I’m taking it easy for the most part. I’m here to visit my friend Jeff and participate in the Relay for Life with him and his family. I’m very excited about it. Look for a post about the event in a few days. Anyway, I’m feeling better than I have in a while. I hope things will continue to be better when I return home next week. But for now, I’m enjoying the peace and tranquility of being here. It’s a great place.

Leave a Reply

