My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

My friend Liz

on April 18, 2013

I truly believe that everyone in your life is there for a reason. Sometimes it’s because you need them; sometimes it’s because they need you; and sometimes it’s because you need each other. If you’re very lucky, the universe will send you someone like my friend Liz. I’ve mentioned her briefly in a couple of posts, but she deserves a whole post of her own.

I met Liz last year, the first day of the first season of Quinte’s Biggest Loser. We both attended a nutrition class they were offering at the hospital. We happen to sit near each other and we struck up a conversation. It was as easy as that. What I didn’t understand then was the universe decided to give me one of the most amazing, funny, smart, lovable, beautiful, down-to-earth, crazy friends a person could ever have! Liz is the type of person that lights up a room as soon as she enters it. Feeling down? Liz knows just the right thing to say to bring you up. Got a problem? Liz has a way of seeing things that you may not have thought of. Need to relax, let loose, and/or maybe do something a little crazy? Liz can help with that!

Liz is a blogger as well. You can read her blog here. She writes about, well, everything really. And she’s one of the best writers I know. I aspire to write like her. She writes with such passion, such emotion. It’s simply beautiful. No other way to describe it really.

I’ve been a bit stressed out lately. I’ve had a lot going on. And lucky for me, Liz has been there to listen to me complain and offer some friendly advice, along with plenty of laughs. Just being around her makes me feel better, makes me feel like things will get better. Everyone needs a friend like that. I don’t know if she realizes that impact she has on others. She truly is a special person. And I’m honoured to call her my friend. My life … heck, the whole world is a better place with her in it.

Thank you Liz for everything, for all that you are, and for being my friend. You rock socks. Rock. Socks. šŸ˜‰

20130418-063542.jpg

2 responses to “My friend Liz

  1. Liz McLennan says:

    Oh, my. Oh, my darling friend. This is….I don’t even have words for this. Can hardly type, because I’m crying…gimme a sec…

    This is lovely and happy and bright and I thank you for it. But mostly, I thank you for YOU – being around you brings ME up and yesterday we laughed so hard, I thought I might pee myself. That’s what it’s all about: friends supporting friends even when they wet the upholstery.

    Bahahhahaa!

    I love you, Jen. I love your spirit, your fire, your determination….and your peanut butter chocolate chip balls. Thank you for being my friend.

    • jenncoleman says:

      Okay now I’m crying too. It’s been a while since I laughed as hard as we did yesterday. And it was awesome. Although the reds might think I’m a little crazy by now LOL.

Leave a Reply

