My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Jogging update

on February 11, 2013

Ok I almost posted this last week. And it was going to be more like I was frustrated with my jogging and ready to give up.

But today I have a different view.

Today I’m feeling pretty good.

I know I’m relatively new to this jogging thing, and I know it will take time to improve. And I remember that most of the time. I didn’t last week. Last week I was very frustrated. I didn’t feel like I was making any progress with my jogging. In fact, I felt like I was losing ground. I was ready to give up ever being able to run. That little voice that lives in my head that tells me something is too hard and I should just give up was very loud. And I almost listened. Almost.

But today I woke up with a different attitude. Today I was determined to keep trying, determined to do better.

I have to keep reminding myself to strive for progress, not perfection. And every little bit counts.

Sometimes I still forget. Thankfully I have friends who help remind me.

Anyway, let me update you on how the jogging is going.

I started by just jogging 30 secs then walking. I’ve moved up to jogging 1 minute, walking 1 minute. I can do that relatively easily now. Occasionally I will jog 2 minutes. My record is 3 minutes 30 seconds, but I’ve only been able to do that once. I’ve been able to do 3 minutes a few times.

I had been itching to try jogging outside and I finally got my chance a couple of weeks ago. Tyler and I did a run around the park near the gym. We were out for a little more than an hour. For the first 30 minutes, I did 1 minute jogging/1 minute walking … The second 30 minutes, I did 2 minutes jogging/2 minutes walking. It was hard, but I actually enjoyed it. The weather has been very uncooperative since then, so we haven’t been able to do it again yet. But hopefully soon. I’m kind of anxious to get out there.

Last week I felt like giving up altogether. It just seemed so much harder than it should have been. I didn’t feel very good about my jogging. I didn’t feel like I was making any progress at all. But my friends at the gym kept me going. In fact, today, my friend Sean told me that he can see real improvement. He said my stride has become more athletic. I love that! I had been so down on myself, feeling I wasn’t getting anywhere, and then I hear something like that. It’s so awesome! I’ve had a few people tell me I’m doing a great job. And I can never hear that enough. It means so much to me. It really keeps me going.

I’m still not exactly where I’d like to be, but I’m feeling pretty good about where I’m at. I try to do a little jogging each day on the treadmill. I’m hoping I will keep improving. I’m hoping soon I will be able to go 5 minutes without stopping. I’m doing a 5k next month and I want to be able to jog a good portion of it. If I can keep out of my head, I think I can get there. With the support of my friends, I know I can.

I just have to keep telling myself to strive for progress, not perfection. And every little bit counts.

Look for more updates soon.

Leave a Reply

