My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Starting the week off strong

on January 28, 2013

After pushing myself to my limits last week, and resting the whole weekend, I woke up this morning ready to hit the gym hard!

I know I have to push myself to reach my goals. I need to push hard to break through the walls and plateaus. I need to push myself to test my limits … and break them!

When I woke up this morning, I noticed it was snowing outside. The old me would have said something like “screw that! I’m going back to bed!” But not the new me. The new me didn’t think twice about getting ready to hit the gym. I showered, got dressed, had breakfast, bundled up, and headed out. I got to the gym determined to have a great workout.

My Mondays at the gym almost always include a workout with Tyler. And that was up first today. I started with a 10-minute warm up on the treadmill, doing one minute walking/one minute jogging the whole time. It was the first jogging I’d done in almost a week. It felt great. Then it was Tyler’s turn. He really pushed me hard today. I was sweating up a storm and it was awesome!! I love working with Tyler because I almost always discover I can do things I never thought I’d be able to do. After Tyler was done kicking my butt, it was straight into cardio. I started with the rowing machine for 12 minutes (2k), then on to the elliptical for 18 minutes, then the recumbent bike for 20 minutes, then the stair stepper for the last 10 for a total of an hour. And it was a hard hour too! I thought about doing a second hour of cardio on the treadmill after resting for a bit, but I just didn’t have it in me. I was pretty tired at that point. I headed home feeling pretty good.

So after having a bit of a tough week last week, and ending it feeling completely wiped out, I feel like I’m starting off this week on a strong note. And I’m feeling rather empowered by that notion. I’m looking forward to a great week at the gym.

2 responses to “Starting the week off strong

  1. leannenalani says:

    Talk about motivation! I saw your post about balance and I think you will need to find what works for you through trial and error. Me time is super important, but there must be a way to make sure exercise gets in there on a regular basis, too. You don’t want to stress yourself out too much either because that stress stands a chance of sabotaging your weight loss. I’m sure you will find your balance.

    • jenncoleman says:

      Thanks 🙂
      I’m at the gym 5-6 days a week, so I’m pushing pretty hard. I’m working on the balance thing. I’m sure it will come in time.

Leave a Reply

