My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Finding the balance

on January 26, 2013

So I’m discovering once again that I need to find the right balance in my journey. The balance between pushing myself in my workouts but not too hard; between gym time and “me” time. I woke up this morning feeling completely drained. I had a hard workout again yesterday. It took a lot out of me, and I’m not sure I’m 100% yet. Because of that, I decided to stay home today. Do I feel guilty about that? Yes, a little. I’ve been pushing myself pretty hard for a few weeks now. My friend Jeff suggested I’m pushing myself too hard, that I’m stressing myself out. I think he has a point. I don’t really take much “me” time. When I’m not at the gym, I’m thinking about what I’ll be doing the next time I’m there, or I’m running around taking care of things around my house. Jeff lives thousands of miles away and he says he can tell I’m stressed. That says a lot. So I need to find the right balance. I need to figure out how to push myself in my workouts, as well as not stress about them. And I need to incorporate more “me” time. I just wish I knew how to do that. How do I stop putting so much pressure on myself? How do I continue to work towards my goals without overdoing it? How do I learn to relax? I think anyone who’s on a journey like mine eventually has to deal with these questions. So how do I figure out the answers? How do I find the balance I need? I don’t know. I really don’t know.

It’s interesting to me how time and time again along this journey I have to learn new ways to deal with emotional issues. This is just another one of those times. In the past, I’d use food to deal with them, or rather not deal with them. But not now. Now I have to face the issues head on. They aren’t going to just go away.

And as I’m dealing with these issues, how do I stay motivated? How do I keep from giving up? How do I stay on track?

The only thing I do know is to take it one step at a time, one day at a time. And hopefully as I move along, I’ll find the answers I need.

Leave a Reply

