My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Quinte’s Biggest Loser – 2 weeks in

on January 22, 2013

So Season 2 of Quinte’s Biggest Loser has begun. Since we just finished the second week, I thought I’d post an update.

So how’s it going so far?

Pretty good I think. I’m pushing myself harder than I ever have before. I’m trying to incorporate new things into my workouts as well.

The most exciting thing I’ve done so far is learning to jog. That might seem like a simple thing, but let me tell you, it is not! At least not when you’re overweight. But I’m actually liking it! I mostly jog on the treadmill for now. I’ve only been able to jog outside once so far, mainly because it is winter and freezing outside! Hopefully once it warms up a little bit, I’ll be out there again. I’m really looking forward to that!

I’m pushing my cardio harder as well. In addition to the treadmill, I’m incorporating the stair stepper, the recumbent bike, the elliptical, and the rowing machine.

I’m also keeping a big eye on my nutrition. I’m being extra careful about what I eat and how much, but still making sure I’m eating enough. I’m trying to change things up a bit by adding new healthy foods in, and changing up what I have for meals as well as snacks. I’m not super good at knowing what the best foods are, but there are a bunch of apps that I can use. And of course, I have friends helping with that as well.

Am I losing weight? Yes, a bit. Not as much as I’d like, but every little bit counts. I’m sure I’m building muscle, which is a good thing in the long run. I’m off to a bit of a slow start, but hopefully things will start moving a little quicker soon.

The next weigh-in is in 3 weeks so I have a little time to catch up, but not a lot. I need to get my butt in gear! I want to do well at this. I want to do much better than I did last year. I’ll keep you updated on how it’s going.

And if anyone has any tips for me, I’d love to hear them!!

Leave a Reply

