My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Workout buddies

on January 18, 2013

When I first started going to the gym last year, I almost always worked out by myself. A few times I went with my husband or friends, but overall, I was alone. I preferred it that way, actually. I think it was partly because I was new to working out and I didn’t want to be intimidated by anyone else working out with me. So I just trudged along on my own. Once I got used to the gym, I started chatting more with others. After I’d been there about 2 months, I started taking one of the classes. I was intimidated at first, but quickly settled into it. A couple weeks later, I added a second class. I was becoming less and less intimidated working out with and around others. The more I worked out, the stronger I got, the more I wanted others around. And that became more and more true once I started working with Tyler.

Now I really enjoy having someone to workout with. It seems to make the time go by faster. Plus you can kind of compete against each other. But best of all, you have someone there to celebrate your accomplishments and to cheer you on when you’re struggling.

And let me tell you, I’ve needed that last one a lot!

There is just something about having someone there to tell you stuff like “you’re doing great”, and “you got this!”, and “way to go!” There have been times where I’ve felt like giving up, like there is no way I can do this. And then someone says something like that to me and its almost like I’ve been given a second wind or something. Having someone there to support you can help you break through the walls and plateaus you sometimes hit.

And when you finally are able to accomplish something or you reach a goal you’ve been working at, there is nothing like having someone there to say congrats, pat you on the back, give you a high five, or say they knew you could do it.

It’s fun to have someone to compete with too. You can set goals to hit, see who can hit them faster. Plus you can share your workouts with each other. It adds an extra element to your workout and can be fun too.

And maybe you can teach each other new things as well. Maybe one of you knows how to use a piece of equipment and can show the other. Or maybe each of you knows different stretches or exercises for your abs.

Maybe most important, having a workout buddy can help prevent getting hurt during your workout. And they can stop you from pushing yourself too far.

I have several workout buddies. We do cardio together. We do stretching. We do a core workout together. Maybe a group of us will get together for a Zumba class or a boot camp workout. The sky is really the limit.

My friend Jeff is one of my favourite workout buddies. And we don’t even live near each other! We text each other almost daily though. We share our workouts. We cheer each other on. We support one another when we are struggling. And if one of us is having a bad day, we have someone to vent to.

If you don’t already have a workout buddy or two, I highly recommend you get at least one. You might be surprised how much it adds to your workout.

One response to “Workout buddies

  1. leannenalani says:

    You are really reaping the benefits of having a workout buddy. When I had a weight loss buddy that was always effective for me.

Leave a Reply

