My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

The right mindset

on January 11, 2013

My friend Sean and I were chatting the other day during our workout. We were talking about how some people are successful and some are not in their weight loss journey. And what it takes to be successful.

In my opinion, you need to have the right mindset.

I’ve been overweight almost my entire life. I was bullied in school because of it. I missed out on a lot of cool things growing up because of it. I tried many times over the years to do something about it. And I’d have some short term success, but I would ultimately fail. And I truly believe it’s because my mind was not in the right place, although I admit I didn’t know that at the time. It took me years to come to that realization.

You really have to want to succeed. You have to want it so bad that nothing will stop you. One of my favourite sayings goes like this:

“If you really want it, you’ll find a way. If not, you’ll find an excuse.”

I was really good at finding excuses. I wasn’t in it to win it, as the saying goes.

But this time it’s different. This time I’m finding real success. And I know it’s because I have the right mindset. I want it more than I have ever wanted anything ever! I want to succeed this time. I want to prove I can do it. I want to be a better version of me.

And that’s another aspect of being in the right mindset. You really have to want to do it for yourself. It’s nice if you want to do it for others as well, but if YOU don’t want it, chances are, you will fail.

I do want it for me. I’m happy my husband is happy. I’m happy my doctors are happy. I’m happy my family and friends are happy. But most important, I’m happy. And it really makes a difference.

It’s about time I become the best version of me that I can. And I’m well on my way.

2 responses to “The right mindset

  1. leannenalani says:

    Wonderfully said! I love it. The right mindset is for sure what is needed. I was that excuse person for a long time and I know people who I love and care about who are not in the right mindset. Makes me wonder how someone gets to that point.

    • jenncoleman says:

      Thank you. Everyone needs their AHA moment. Some people get it, some don’t. And some get theirs but don’t listen to it. I had mine in Aug 2009. And I listened. And it made all the difference.

Leave a Reply

