My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

My friend Jeff

on January 7, 2013

I’ve mentioned my friend Jeff in a few of my postings. But I don’t think I’ve mentioned him enough, so I decided to make this one all about him.

Jeff and I met many years ago (more than either of us wants to admit I think haha) when we worked together. We had similar personalities so we became fast friends. We had some great times. Eventually, I moved away to get married and we lost touch. Thanks to Facebook, he found me a couple of years ago. And it’s as if no time has passed. At least that’s how I see it. And I think we are even better friends now than we were back then.

Jeff has been on a weight loss journey of his own. And he has done amazingly well! I am so proud of him. He’s now in the maintenance stage on his journey. What’s good about that is I have someone to talk to who knows pretty much exactly what I’m going through. He knows the ups and downs, the struggles and triumphs. He’s helped me more than he may know. He’s a huge inspiration to me. And he keeps me motivated too. I don’t know if I can ever thank him enough for all he does for me.

Jeff is the one who inspired me to start this blog. He also gives me lots of ideas for things to write about. He doesn’t always do that intentionally. Sometimes we will be talking and I will say something like “I think there’s a blog entry in there.” And sometimes when I’m not sure about something I’ve written, he will read it over before I publish it. He’s helped me fine-tune more than one entry.

Beyond the fact that Jeff is a major source of support for me on my journey, he is one of my dearest friends. I consider him one of my best friends in fact. He is one of the kindest, smartest, funniest, silliest people I know. And I can’t imagine my life without him. I recently gave him the nickname “Rockstar.” Partly because he totally rocks his workouts, always pushing himself, but also because he has a larger-than-life personality. I think the name really suits him.

We text each other nearly every day, several times a day. We live thousands of miles apart, in different time zones, but we always find a way to connect. We chat while we are working out, helping each other when we’re struggling, cheering each other on, keeping each other motivated. We are both a little competitive as well. We sort of compete against each other when we work out. He almost always wins, but I’m catching up. At least I like to think I am.

And best of all, I can share things with him that I can’t with just anyone. Because he knows where I’m coming from, he understands my fears and my struggles. He’s been there too. He knows what it means to be able to do things we couldn’t do before, to set a goal and then surpass it. He knows how important something as simple as being able to say NO to that piece of cake or that extra helping of lasagna really is.

I’m lucky to have him be a part of my journey. I’m even luckier to call him my friend. The world is a better place because of Jeff Zaben.

2 responses to “My friend Jeff

  1. Jeff says:

    WOW! I am honored! We are a team!! You’re there for me just as much as I am for you.

Leave a Reply

