My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Sometimes I need help …

on January 6, 2013

… getting through a workout.
… to stay away from junk food and other things I shouldn’t be eating.
… getting up and going to the gym.
… remembering why I am doing what I’m doing.

A journey like mine is not easy, especially when you have to undo decades of poor eating habits and inactivity. There is so much to learn, so much to remember, so much to do. I do the best I can. I push myself as hard as I can. But I struggle. Sometimes I can pull myself through, but sometimes I need help.

Thankfully, I have a great support system. And I think that’s a major key to my success. I have friends and family who are always in my corner, who support me and encourage me, who are always willing to help me up if I fall. And let me tell you, I have needed them a lot!

They cheer me on. They listen to me vent. They remind me why I began this journey. They have a hug ready when I feel like I’m falling apart. They tell me how great I look. They tell me I can do it … They believe I can do it … Even when I have trouble believing it. They lift me up when I’m down. They don’t give up on me. They don’t let me give up on myself.

In case I haven’t said it enough, I’m so thankful for each and every one of them. I don’t know what I’d do without them. I don’t want to know. They mean more to me than I can ever truly express. They have helped me find a new me, a better me, a healthier me. And how can you thank someone for that.

I haven’t mentioned anyone by name on purpose. There are quite a few of them. And I didn’t want to leave anyone out. And besides, they know who they are.

Leave a Reply

