My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

New Year’s Resolutions

on January 1, 2013

Normally, I’m not one for making resolutions for the new year. But I decided to make an exception this time. Although I’m not sure I’d call them New Year’s resolutions. They are more like goals I want to achieve this year.

It seems like when most people make theirs, they aim too high, they resolve to do things that are nearly impossible to achieve or they don’t know how to go about reaching their goals. So after a few days, weeks, whatever, they just give up on them completely. They don’t realize they have aimed too high. They don’t think realistically about what they want to accomplish or achieve. Don’t get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with dreaming big, but you can’t go from 0 to 60 like a sports car. You need to have a clear plan on how to get where you want to go. Sometimes that requires making a series of smaller goals/dreams to achieve along the way.

I think that’s why I always either failed in the past or just didn’t bother to make any resolutions to begin with. So what’s different this year? What’s changed to make me want to make resolutions? I have. Plan and simple. I’ve changed. I’m becoming a better person, a healthier person. And that makes me want to keep making goals to meet and exceed, and dreams to fulfill and surpass.

So what do I want to accomplish in 2013? I have a few things in mind that I would like to do:

1) participate in and complete a 10k event
2) learn to run/jog
3) learn to use the elliptical
4) walk 50 laps at the Relay For Life event

Those may not seem much to some people, but they mean a lot to me. And they are all steps along my journey to a healthier me. With my grit (as Tyler calls it) and determination, and with the continued support of my family and friends, I’m confident I will be able to cross them all off my list.

What about you? What do you want to accomplish in the new year?

2 responses to “New Year’s Resolutions

Leave a Reply

