My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Goodbye 2012 …

on December 31, 2012

Well it’s time. Time to say goodbye to 2012. What a year it has been. One of the best years of my entire life. And I can say that confidently. A lot happened this year. More than I thought possible.

For me, 2011 had been a rough year so I was hopeful for 2012. And the year started out well. I entered a weight loss competition/fundraiser for the hospital and joined a gym. For the first time in my life, I was enjoying going to the gym. And I was proud of myself for that. The more I worked out, the more I realized I could do. It was exciting. And the more I did, the more weight I lost. I lost more in 2012 than I ever had before. I’m not going to say it was easy. I had some rough patches. And more than once I felt like giving up. But I didn’t. And I’m so happy I didn’t.

And I made some great new friends this year. Tyler, Nick, Joe, Edel, Chase, Sarah, Liz, Matt — just to name a few! Of course, I lost a few friends too. And while part of me is sad about that, I’m doing my best not to dwell on it. I try to remember that there is a reason everything happens … So maybe I learned what I needed from them or vice versa, so it’s time we move on. It’s still a little sad.

I was introduced to a new genre of books this year as well. Okay, not “new” but “new to me”. I have always loved to read. There is just something about holding a book in your hands, the feel of the pages. And I love it when a book captures my attention within the first couple of paragraphs. That’s how my love-affair with science fiction/fantasy books started. I was handed a copy of Best Served Cold by Joe Abercrombie and told to read it. I was almost immediately hooked. And when I was done, I was given a list of other books and other authors to read. And I have loved them all. I’ve read more than 30 books this year, and I already have a large list to start on for 2013. I’m so excited about that!!!

I did a couple of things this year that I didn’t think I could do. I walked across a bridge that used to scare me to drive over. I even stopped at the top and looked over the edge. Now that has had me thinking of other bridges I can walk. I participated in and completed a 5k walk for charity. It was hard and at times I didn’t know if I could finish, but I did and it was amazing. Now I’m looking at doing 10k events.

I’ve learned a lot this year too. I learned I’m stronger than I thought. I learned I’m more stubborn than ever. I learned that it is okay not to be perfect. I learned it’s okay to let people see your vulnerable side. I learned it’s okay to be scared. I learned it’s okay to be proud of myself. And I learned it’s okay to let go.

This year also saw me continuing to be cancer free. I hit the 3 year mark at the end of October. I only have to see my oncologist once a year now. I can hardly wait until i never have to see him again. He’s a great doctor, don’t get me wrong. I just don’t ever want to have to need him again. I do see my family doctor on a regular basis. And he is thrilled with how well I’m doing. My asthma is well under control and my blood pressure is coming down. I’m hoping that I will eventually be able to stop taking medication for that, but I think I’m still a bit away from that.

I’m really proud of myself. I accomplished a lot this year. But I didn’t do it alone. I had a lot of help. The support I received from my friends and family was overwhelming at times. I didn’t realize how much support I had until I really needed it. It’s amazing and wonderful. I want to say thank you to everyone who has been in my corner. Your love and encouragement and support means the world to me. It’s partly because of you that I had such great success this year.

So here’s goodbye to a great year … And hello to what hopefully will be an even better one! Happy New Year everyone!

2 responses to “Goodbye 2012 …

  1. Liz McLennan says:

    Proud and privileged to have been along for part of your journey, Jen. You’re well on your way to becoming your best self. Thank you for your support, your humour and your friendship. Let’s keep on keepin’ on in 2013!

    Go, Losers!

Leave a Reply

