My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Vacation review and getting back on track

on December 28, 2012

Ok so I’m back from vacation and Christmas is over. It’s time to get back on track. I knew when I was planning my vacation, that I was going to be a little “bad”, but I was intent on not getting too far off track. I was afraid that if I went too far, it would be really difficult to get back. So my plan was to stick to my schedule as much as I could and get in at least one really good workout while I was gone. I had planned on treating myself a little with food, but not go overboard.

So how did I do?

Well, not as good as I had hoped I would. I think if I were to give myself a grade, it would have to a “C-“.

I’m a little disappointed in myself. I know I could have done better. I should have been stronger. I should have been able to resist more.

But on the other hand, this was my first major vacation and Christmas since I started this part of journey. And really, it could have been a lot worse. I could have completely gone off track. I could have indulged in everything instead of just a little.

So where did I go wrong? What could I have done better?

Well I think I actually started out fairly well. When we got to Florida, we went grocery shopping. I bought fruit to snack on, ingredients to make a smoothie for breakfast, and some veggies and turkey to make for dinner. I was trying to keep things as similar as I could to home.

What I didn’t expect was not getting up early in the morning, not eating on a “normal” schedule, and eating out a lot. I was expecting to eat out, but not every day and sometimes twice a day. That really threw me off. And I found that because I wasn’t eating every 2-3 hours like I’ve been used to, when we did sit down to eat, I was so hungry that I would overeat. And because I was hungry, I would not always pick the best stuff.

So what did I do right?

One night I was offered a free piece of pie, but turned it down. There were plenty of sweet treats, and I only had 1 piece of candy. I even baked cookies with my niece and didn’t eat any.

I did get a lot of great compliments from my family. They said I look great. They were amazed at how dedicated I’ve been. That felt really good. We talked a lot about what I’d been doing and where I want to go in the future. They seemed really interested in what I had to say.

And while I had a great time in Florida and visiting with my family, I feel like I let myself down a bit. I know what I should have been doing, but didn’t do it. I should have made better food choices. I should have found the time to workout.

And now that I’m home, it’s time to get back on track. Time to go back to making the right food choices. Time to hit the gym on a regular basis. Time to get back to normal. My normal anyway. I find it a little funny that this is now my normal. Eating right and hitting the gym 5 days a week. Might be a little crazy to some people, maybe even most people. But not to me. I feel better when I’m eating right and working out.

It may take me a few days to get totally back where I need to be, but I’m well on my way. And I’m already feeling better.

Leave a Reply

