My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Being on vacation

on December 18, 2012

What is it about being on vacation that makes you almost forget about your goals and being healthier? Why do we eat things we shouldn’t? Why do we brush off our workouts? These are questions I’m struggling with right now. I’m currently on a little holiday in Florida, visiting family. I promised myself before I left that I would be as good as possible, that I would continue to eat as clean as I could, and that I would get in at least one good workout. I did give myself permission to be a little bad, but not go overboard. My husband and I are staying with my niece and her family. They live on the 3rd floor, so I do have to go up and down a couple flights of stairs, but that’s not enough of a workout. I need to get to a gym and really sweat! I’m certainly missing my workouts with Tyler. But I need to learn to push myself when he’s not around. I need to remember why I started this journey and why I need to stay on course. I need to remind myself that just because I’m not at home does not mean I can eat whatever I want. Being on vacation does not mean I won’t gain weight if I don’t eat properly. In fact, I think I need to be more vigilant than ever! I’m trying. We went grocery shopping when we got here. I got fruit to snack on, ingredients to make my smoothie for breakfast, and veggies and lean protein for lunches and/or dinners. But it’s when we go out that I’m concerned. I’m afraid of losing control. What if we go somewhere that I can’t make really healthy choices? I need to be careful. I don’t want to undo all the progress I’ve made. I don’t want to go backwards. So what do I do? How do I have fun but maintain control? How do I balance enjoying myself and keeping true to my goals? I wish I knew the answers. Right now I’m just taking it one step at a time, one meal at a time, one day at a time. I don’t know, but maybe that is the answer.

2 responses to “Being on vacation

  1. fit4life12 says:

    Jen, remember that you are doing amazing. Don’t feel overwhelmed. Think of yourself at home but just in a nicer/warmer environment. Think of how amazing you are going to feel eating a healthy meal in the warm sunshine and how much closer you are to feeling and looking the way you want.
    Now… Close your eyes. Envision yourself at that perfect “you” weight. What does that look like to you? How do you feel when you have reached your goal? Do you feel happier? Healthier? Sexier? Do you remind yourself that you reached that goal, and kicked its ass because you stayed on track with your nutrition and ate clean as well as stayed dedicated to your workouts?
    While visiting your family, try to eat in as much as possible. Know your proper portion sizes 🙂 Drink lots of water and keep track of your progress 🙂 Think about how great your bad food will taste for a couple second and how awful you will feel for having given in to the tempation for the rest of the day. Is it worth that guilt? Food is food. You are stronger than it. Go get it girl! Your’e so close to getting what you have dreamt of!

Leave a Reply

