My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Giving thanks

on October 7, 2012

It’s Thanksgiving weekend here in Canada. A time of year when families gather to break bread together and to give thanks for their many blessings. Most of my family is far away, but I’m always thinking of them. I have a pretty good life, so I have a lot to be thankful for. So in honour of Thanksgiving, I thought I’d make a list of some of the things I’m thankful for this year:

I’m thankful for my wonderful husband Dan. He’s the best thing to ever happened to me. His love and support mean the world to me.

I’m thankful for my health. I think I’m healthier now than I have been in a long time, maybe ever. Another year being cancer free, lower blood pressure, lower weight are just a few of the highlights.

I’m thankful for my family. Even though we live far apart and don’t get to see each other very much, I love them dearly.

I’m thankful for my friends. All of them. Those who live nearby and those who are spread out across many many miles. Those I’ve known for more years than I care to count and those who I’ve only known a short while. Those I know personally and those I only know online. Those I talk or text with regularly and those who I haven’t heard from in years.

I’m thankful for my cats. That might seem odd to some, but not to me. They are like my furry little kids. And as much as they drive me crazy sometimes, I can not imagine not having them around. No matter what, they love me. They are there when I need cheering up. They know how to make me smile.

I’m thankful for each and every day. Even if I’m having a bad day. Even if my muscles are sore from a tough workout. Even if nothing seems to be going the way I want it to. Every day is a gift and I’m thankful for them all.

So what about you? What are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

