My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

New gym

on July 27, 2012

So it’s been a week since my old gym closed and I was forced to find somewhere new to work out. Thanks to Tyler, that happened very quickly, the same day the gym closed actually. Even though Tyler said it was a great place and I would love it, I was still nervous about it. What if he was wrong? What if I hated it? What if I wasn’t comfortable there? What if … What if … What if. Now, I trust Tyler and respect his opinion, so I didn’t really think he’d steer me wrong. But I’m a worry-wart, so these are the things that ran through my head. Tyler asked me to meet him there the next afternoon, so I did. I got there before he did so I had a look around. He was right (as usual). It’s really nice. Very bright and inviting. Lots of nice equipment. And bigger than I originally thought too. The only real drawback is that it’s across town. But I can get there by bus (for those that don’t know, I don’t drive). So I signed up and hoped that I would be comfortable working out there. I knew it would take a little while for that. It did at my old gym too. I don’t really know anyone there yet. And I need to establish a new routine of going. Those things take time. And Tyler was going on vacation so I wouldn’t be seeing him for a bit. I was going to be on my own for 2 weeks. I did a little cardio that first day. I didn’t want to push too much because it was all new to me, especially the equipment. But it felt good so I was happy. This happened on a Friday. I was busy all weekend so I wouldn’t be able to go again until Monday. But that’s okay because I don’t usually workout on the weekends. When Monday rolled around, it felt a little weird not getting up early so I could get to the gym early to do cardio before my classes. It still feels a little weird. My new workout place does not offer classes. Probably the only thing I wish it had that it doesn’t. Okay, that’s not true. I wish it had a pool too, but that’s not a big deal. And actually, the classes aren’t that big of a deal either. So I get there, look around a bit more, look at stuff a bit closer. I like it. It has a nice atmosphere. I chuckle to myself because I can hear Tyler in my head, “I told you so”. Yeah you did, buddy, yeah you did. So I do my cardio, happy to have such nice equipment to workout on. The treadmills, bikes, steppers, and ellipticals each have their own little television. Oh cool is that! I’m not used to watching tv while working out, but I think I could grow to like it (hahaha). As I’m listening to my usual treadmill music, I began to think that maybe I should get some new music. As much as I love my Maroon 5, something different once in a while could be a good thing (yes, Tyler, I know what you’re going to say about that LOL). Anyway, Monday went well. As did Tuesday. I met the owner, chatted with him for a bit. He seems really nice. I can already tell I’m getting more comfortable. Wednesday came and went, as did Thursday. Each day I feel better. I still miss my classes though. Some of the stuff I can do on my own but it’s not quite the same. And I miss my regular workouts with Tyler. I know he is on a much-needed and well-deserved vacation, but I still miss him. I will be glad when he is back and our workouts resume. So for now I will do what I can on my own. Once I’ve established a new routine, I think it get even better. I’m trying to get there about the same time each day. It’s working so far. My first week at the new gym is complete. We’ll see how things go next week. I’ve read that changing your workout routine is good. It keeps you from getting complacent. This is a little more change than I would have liked, but I’m trying my best to get used to it. All things take time. Look for future updates on how things are going.

Leave a Reply

