My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Without the downs, you can’t appreciate the ups

on June 27, 2012

Most days when I’m at the gym, I’m feeling pretty good. Even when I’m drenched in sweat. Even when Tyler is kicking my butt. I get excited when I can do something I’ve never done before, when I do something faster or better than before. I feel like I’m on cloud nine when Tyler tells me I’m doing something perfect or when he’s blown away at how well I do something he’s instructed me to do. I feel like I can fly when others tell me how impressed they are by me, that I’m an inspiration to them. If you’ve never felt that before, it’s one of the most amazing feelings ever.

But then there are those other days. The days where everything feels like a struggle, where I can’t seem to do anything like I’ve done before. Those days where I want to give up. Those days where I just want to stay in bed. Those days when I wonder why am I doing this, what difference does it make? Those days when I don’t feel like I’m making any progress, I’m not getting any better. I wonder is it all worth it, why am I putting myself through all this, what is the point of it all?

It wasn’t until I was speaking with a lady named Carol one day at the gym that I began to make the connection. This particular day I was having a bit of a bad day. I was struggling both emotionally and physically. I was beginning to have those doubts again about why I was even there. She was telling me how impressed she is with me and my progress. How much of a difference she can see in me from when I first started at the gym. She asked how I was feeling about it all. I told her how I feel really good most days, but on that day I was struggling a bit. She told me that “without the downs, we can’t appreciate the ups”. I thought that was pretty good. If we are up all the time, we don’t necessarily see how far we’ve come, see just how well we are doing. We can’t really see how much progress we’ve made, how big of a difference it makes.

So on those days when I’m struggling, when I’m having a bad day, when I can’t seem to get things right, I remember what she said. I remember where I started. I tell myself that it’s okay, I’m just having an off day. Everyone has them. I remind myself what I’ve been able to accomplish. And that it’s all good, and to just try again tomorrow.

2 responses to “Without the downs, you can’t appreciate the ups

Leave a Reply

