My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Feeling empowered!

on June 13, 2012

I’ve really been feeling good lately. Both mentally and physically. I’ve been working hard at the gym and I think it’s really doing wonders. I’m feeling stronger than I ever have before. Sure I still have times when I struggle, but they have been very few lately. I hope it stays that way. And I think my workouts have been better too. I think I’ve mentioned this before, but I think it deserves to be repeated — the better I feel before I work out, the better I feel after I’m done. Even when my whole body is shaking and I feel like I might pass out, I know it was an amazing workout and that makes me feel good! When I first started at the gym, everything seemed so hard. And it seemed like I couldn’t workout for very long. But the more I went, the easier some things seemed to get. And once I hooked up with Tyler, things really got better. I saw something online not long ago that said, “It doesn’t get easier, you just get better”. I get excited when I can do something for the first time or when I can do something faster than I could before or I can lift heavier weights or go faster on the treadmill. It’s such a rush!! Tyler shows me how to do something and I give it a try. Sometimes I get it right, sometimes he has to show me again or make slight corrections to my form. But it’s the moments when he tells me things like “that was perfect!” that I feel like I could fly! Or he shows me something and I think (and sometimes say) “you have got to be kidding! No way I can do that!”. And then I try it and SURPRISE!! I can do it!! If you’ve never experienced that feeling before, you don’t know what you’re missing. That feeling is so empowering! You feel like you can take on the world. What’s more empowering than that is when someone, anyone comes up to you and tells you that you are looking great. Yesterday after I finished my workout with Tyler, a guy walked over to us and told me how great he thinks I’m doing and that I should be really proud of myself. After he left, Tyler told me he has said that to him before. Sort of made me feel like a super hero! The more I hear stuff like that, the better and more empowered I feel. And the more empowered I feel, the more I want to do and try and work for. It makes me feel inspired and motivated. I find myself smiling more, laughing more, loving life more. It’s a great feeling. Even though I still felt a little tired when I got up, I felt so amazing. I don’t think I’ve stopped smiling all day. And today is Tyler’s birthday so I got to spoil him a little. It makes me happy to make my friends happy. I hope Tyler had a great day. I’m meeting up with friends tonight who are on their own journeys. We all met a few months ago when we did the weight loss challenge that inspired me to join the gym. It will be nice to great to see everyone and hear how they are progressing. I made some good friends doing the challenge. They all inspire me in many ways. Truly amazing group of people.

I feel so empowered today. Truly an amazing day.

What makes you feel empowered? Leave a comment or send me a message. I hope you have an amazing day!

Leave a Reply

