My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

New regimen

on May 5, 2012

So after getting past my struggles recently, I decided that I needed to ramp up my workouts to help me get off the plateau. With Tyler’s help, I now have a new regimen.

First order of business is cardio 5 days a week, minimum 45 minutes. I’ve been using the treadmill for my cardio. According to Tyler, it only counts if I’m breathless and sweaty. No problem. In theory anyway LOL. The problem with doing cardio on the treadmill 5 days a week is the heel spur in my left foot. It’s really been bothering me the last few days. I try not to think about it when I’m walking, but it’s really hard not to notice it. I think I need to think of some other ways to get my cardio in. A couple of friends have suggested swimming, which I love. I recently tried the pool at the gym and really enjoyed it. My question is does swimming count as cardio? Everything I’ve read says it does. But how does it compare to walking on the treadmill? That I don’t know. I enjoy walking on the treadmill but don’t want to injure myself. I guess I’ll have to talk to Tyler about it.

So next is to switch up my workouts with Tyler. Starting this week, I will be working out with him twice a week instead of just once. Last week he really kicked my butt LOL. But I know that’s what I need to help me reach my goals. I need someone pushing me and not letting me slack off. I need someone to show me new ways to workout and to tell me what exercises work what muscles. I need someone to encourage me, to tell me I can do these things, and not to take any bull from me LOL.

I think my diet needs to be overhauled again as well. Not a major overhaul but little tweaks here and there. I am trying to cut out as much excess sugar as I can. That’s not easy considering I have a big sweet tooth. I’ve already stopped putting sugar in my coffee and tea. I’m trying very hard not to eat sweets. And I’m doing my best to limit my alcohol consumption. I need to add more veggies and more protein. I’ve been keeping a food journal for the last month. Looking back through it, some days I’m very good, some days not so good. I’m not sure what else I can do there. Maybe just try to have way more good days than not-so-good days. And drink more water!!

One thing that is not changing is the classes I’m taking at the gym. I will still be doing core combo and stretch classes, each twice a week. I was looking at the calendar the other day and I realized that I’ve been taking the stretch class for 8 weeks now, and core combo for 6 weeks. I really enjoy both classes. I was a little nervous when I first started because I didn’t know if I could do them. But I think I’ve made pretty good progress in each! Several people have told me how much of a difference they can see in me since I started. I don’t think I will ever get tired to hearing that. Even if I can’t always see the changes in myself, it’s nice to know other people can. It helps keep me motivated.

Hopefully these changes will get me off the plateau and back on track to a healthier me.

Now that I’m going to the gym 5 days a week, does that make me a gym rat? LOL

Check back soon for more updates.

Leave a Reply

