My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Feeling better

on April 25, 2012

So today I’m feeling better. Better than I have in a week. Those nagging voices have finally quieted down. Hopefully they will stay quiet for a good long time. I’m not saying I won’t have bad days, I’m sure I will, but for now things are good. I had a great talk with my friend Jeff, who is just one of the greatest friends anyone could ask for, and he really helped a lot. And, more importantly, I had a nice long chat with Tyler, my trainer, whom I also consider a friend. He said things to me that I really needed to hear, and he really listened to me as I tried to explain what has been bugging me. Some of it was a little hard to explain, and I’m not sure I made a lot of sense at times, but he seemed to really understand. I absolutely made the right choice picking him as my trainer. Beyond the training, I feel like I’ve made a good friend.

Anyway, back to feeling better. Because I’m feeling better today, I feel like my workout was much better today. I mean that I feel like I got more out of it today than I had the past couple of times. My time on the treadmill felt different today, in a good way. I’m learning to walk on the treadmill without holding on. When I first started at the gym, I was so afraid of falling, that I held on the whole time. The other day I decided to see if I could do it without holding on. I amazed myself that I could do it so easily! I started back at a 0 incline, but going to start working my way back up. I’m already at a 2.0 incline! I noticed that some things are getting easier for me to do in stretch class as well. Even if I am not seeing progress in the mirror, I feel like I’m making progress, and that is a big deal! Last week I told Tyler that I didn’t think he worked me hard enough in our session because my muscles were not that sore the next day LOL. He seemed a little surprised and told me that next time he work me until I puked! Well he worked me a lot harder today, but I didn’t puke (thank goodness). But it was a great session. I felt really good afterwards, and I have a feeling my muscles are going to be sore tomorrow LOL.

One thing I’ve noticed is that the better I feel before my workout, the better I feel after … both mentally and physically. My muscles might be sore, but it’s a good sore, if that makes any sense. I don’t know if that’s true for everyone or even if it’s true all the time, it’s just something I’ve noticed a few times now about myself.

Anyway, today was a great day at the gym. And I’m feeling better.

🙂

2 responses to “Feeling better

  1. Jeff says:

    Way to go! You worked through it and without raiding the pantry like “old Jennifer” and “Old Jeff” would have. I am so proud!!

Leave a Reply

