My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Mixing it up

on April 18, 2012

So I’ve decided to change things up. I’m trying to add new things to my workouts to “surprise” my muscles. I don’t want to get complacent or bored, so I figure the best way to do that is to mix it up a little. Monday was the first day since I started at the gym that I did NOT use the treadmill. I did, however, walk to and from the gym, which was a helluva workout on its own! I’m trying to add more weights as well. And last night I tried a Zumba class for the first time! It was fun and a good workout, but I discovered I don’t have a lot of coordination LOL. I was having trouble doing the leg and arm movements together, so I did one or the other. I figured as long as I was moving, I was getting a good workout in. I think I’ll try it again next week. A bunch of friends who are all losing weight did the class together. It’s a lot more fun with friends. We all did the weight loss challenge and became friends. We are all continuing our journeys and supporting each other. We are putting together workout sessions to do together outside our respective gyms. We already have one trainer willing to run at least a session or two for us. We are trying to get others as well. I’m still working hard towards my goal of walking in a 5K. I may get there sooner than I have planned, but we shall see. I don’t want to push myself too hard too fast. It’s all good. And with my awesome trainer Tyler and the support of family and friends, I’m confident I will get there.

Leave a Reply

