My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Meltdown

on April 17, 2012

So last Friday at the gym I had a little meltdown. I was really frustrated because I couldn’t do a lot of the stuff we were doing in class and it just boiled over. The meltdown started in class, but really got going after class when I tried doing something so that should be relatively easy. There was a lot of crying and swearing involved. The worst part is that several people were there to see it, including my trainer. Tyler is really great, he helped calm me down, but I was (and still am) a bit embarrassed by the whole thing. I’m almost 42 years old and there I was acting like a child! I think maybe it had been building for a while and it just all came to a head. As “punishment” for my behavior, I made myself walk home from the gym. I thought it might make me feel a little better, but it didn’t really. I was still pretty upset with myself the rest of the day. But Dan and I went out over the weekend and I blew off some steam. That actually made me feel a bit better. I had some fun and got to see some good friends. So I’m determined to put what happened behind me and kick some ass at the gym from now on! I will do the best I can, and if I can’t do something, I will keep at it until I can! I know I’ve already made great progress since starting at the gym. There are many things I thought I’d never be able to do and I’m doing them, either all the way or in part. Many people have told me how much of a difference they can see in me. That makes me feel good. There are still going to be bad days, but hopefully I will be better prepared for them from now on.

Leave a Reply

