My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

It’s been awhile …

on April 12, 2012

I just realized that it has been quite awhile since I posted anything. Not sure why. It’s not like I haven’t been going anything. Anyway, let me catch you up on what’s been happening.

The weight loss challenge I was doing has ended. I lost about 15 lbs overall and several inches. I don’t know exactly how many inches because I neglected to get measured but I can tell my clothes are a lot looser. In fact, I’ve had to buy some new clothes because most of what I had was too big. I still need to replace a few things but I’m good for now.

I’m going to the gym 3 days a week now. I have it on my calendar when I’m going. I was only going haphazardly before, but now I’ve made a commitment when to go. I think it’s working out very well.

I regularly walk to the gym now too. I did it the first time just to prove that I could. Took me almost an hour the first time. Now it takes me about 35 minutes. It’s about a 1.5 km walk. I’ve only walked home a could of times. Partly because I’m a little tired after I workout. But sometimes I walk part of the way and then take the bus. My goal is to walk to the gym and then home again in the same day. I’m working up to it. I’ll get there soon.

I’ve started taking classes at the gym. I’m not sure if I mentioned that before. I started with a stretch class and then I added a core combo class. I’m getting to do things I never thought I’d be able to do. I really think they are helping. They are both taught by the same guy which I like. He pushes us but not too much.

I’ve also hired a personal trainer to help push me even more. He’s really good. He’s teaching me quite a bit. I’ve surprised myself by what I’ve been able to do. I know I have a way to go, but I’m getting there.

I still struggle some days. I get mad at myself when I can’t do something. I get frustrated sometimes. But again it’s something I’m working on. I’m trying. It helps to have people who push me and people who are there to catch me when I stumble or fall. When I first started going to the gym, I only knew 1 person and didn’t really talk to anyone. Now I know lots of people and even talk to some I don’t know. It’s like my social skills are getting a workout too LOL.

Leave a Reply

